jump to navigation

35% Screwed. March 12, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Love and Death, Politics and Society.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Today I learned that Blue Cross / Blue Shield of Massachusetts just raised my health care premium by 35%.

And being here in Massachusetts, I have no choice but to pay the piper; my state mandates health insurance coverage, whether or not one feels that they can afford it.

Yeah, that’s right.  “My” government has legislated that I buy this really shitty product from a for-profit industry which is making record profits off of my reluctant contributions.

How “shitty,” you ask?

Well, last Autumn I got an emergency MRI to diagnose a brain problem, and I’m still a long way from paying off my thousand dollar co-pay for a procedure which costs $120 in Europe.

So much for “insurance.”

And you, if the current “Health Care Reform Bill” passes, are about to be treated to the same Red Carpet treatment.

Don’t get me wrong here – we certainly need significant reform to our health care / health insurance system.

But it’s my firm belief that, as long as for-profit corporations are calling the shots in our health care system, we’re screwed.

By at least 35%.

Comments»

1. Lisa - March 12, 2010

I’m so sorry about this. Dang it. And I agree with you. As long as there is serious money, hell, any money to be made off of health care, the majority of us are screwed.

2. Bob - March 13, 2010

Since you live up there in the corner of the state, would it be possible to get a PO box in NY or VT and “live” there?

Cause, and like Lisa I’m sorry to hear about the situation, that really blows.

3. M&R - March 13, 2010

I agree with you and can’t imagine what it’s like being in your situation. And to think you’re in the usa. How far we’ve fallen so quickly. I personally blame it on the reagan years (and he got an airport named after him!)

4. littlebangtheory - March 13, 2010

Cuz, it has a lot more to do with where I’m billed for the cost of living, and where my drive’s license originates, etc. I could claim Vermont residency on my license with a bit of slight-of-hand, but it wouldn’t change the fact that I pay utility bills at a place in Massachusetts.

And frankly, though it screws me regularly, I try not to lie. I realize this puts me way out of the mainstream, but it’s a moral imperative which I’m reluctant to abandon.

Lisa, so true. The concept of “incorporation” means that people who are producing nothing expect to make money off of those who are working to produce something. It’s a mess, and it’s bolstered by the recent Supreme Court ruling regarding corporations having person-like rights.

It’s pretty discouraging, but as such, it demands our redoubled efforts to see that Democracy continues to exist, and it will only do so by our vocal efforts on its behalf.

I know you’re on board, and hope you’ll gather like-minded folks around you.

Peace and Courage, Lisa. We need to do this together.

5. homer - March 18, 2010

Here in Arizona the Republican politicians are cancelling healthcare coverage for over 300,000 poor people to balance the budget. Since many of those people will now be going to the emergency room for healthcare, those of us with insurance will be paying higher premiums. I have tried telling the politicians that I would rather pay more taxes and have healthcare provided to little kids, and their response is to hang the phone up.

6. littlebangtheory - March 18, 2010

Hi Homer. Your account of politics in AZ is disgusting, and more so because I’ll wager that the same Republicans who are kicking the poor out the door describe themselves as “pro-life” and “Christians.”

If Jesus came back today He’d probably kick their butts!

Thanks for stopping by, and good luck down there.

7. Frau Biergut - March 22, 2010

With the passage of this new “reform” changing addresses won’t help. Now EVERYONE has to BUY insurance or pay a fine. This isn’t reform. It’s a HUGE giveaway to the insurance companies that are licking their chops over the prospect of 31 million new customers for their product. yup, this is a landmark bill.

tschuss!


Leave a comment