jump to navigation

Ice Carvings! February 3, 2013

Posted by littlebangtheory in Politics and Society.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are a few shots of ice carvings from this weekend’s Greenfield Winter Carnival.

A chubby penguin over on the west end of town:

Penguin

Cute, that.

A unicorn right in the center of town:

Unicorn

Careful with that chisel, Eugene!

This was my favorite, a little polar bear carved by Sue O’Sullivan of Royalston, MA:

Polar Bear

…with two chainsaws, a chisel and an electric iron. Who knew?!?   🙂

Not in the judging was this professionally carved swan, donated to the event to get people psyched:

Swan

I did everything I could to get a clean shot of this, including laying in the mud, but urban environs aren’t conducive to clean backgrounds… guess that’s why I’m a nature photographer!  😆

The Winter Carnival went on all weekend, but I only got these few “drive-by” shots. The sponsoring Greenfield Recreation Department is happy to have people photograph for free, but I can’t be that guy.

Hey, a man’s gotta eat!

Comments»

1. lisahgolden - February 3, 2013

I’m trying to say something that doesn’t sound ridiculous and trite, but I can’t help myself.

Cool!

littlebangtheory - February 3, 2013

😆 …thanks!

2. susancrow - February 4, 2013

Just beautiful. The refractions of light on the swan are quite amazing.

I didn’t know about irons either but the contestants all did a wonderful job.

littlebangtheory - February 4, 2013

Why yes, they did! 🙂

3. kkryno - February 5, 2013

I can’t get enough of ice carvings! One of the things I WILL miss about Alaska. Being a desert girl, I just find them magical. Alas; the ice carvings here in downtown had to withstand three minor thaws this season. Gives them a sad, ghostly look. Thanks for sharing yours!

littlebangtheory - February 5, 2013

Vikki, several days later, the carvings in Greenfield are mostly intact, though some of the finer details have headed to the sea. It’s been consistently below freezing here, but that’s slated to change (just barely) later in the week.

Thanks for stopping by!

4. R.Y. Bice - February 6, 2013

Pardon my obtuseness (obtusity?) but Greenfield where?

littlebangtheory - February 7, 2013

Obtusitude pardoned, R.Y. – I get a bit provincial here, and forget that you aren’t all my Meat-World neighbors.

It’s Greenfield, Massachusetts, U.S.A. That’s the nearest “city” to my country town of Charlemont, and the seat of Franklin County.

Thanks for asking, and welcome to Little Bang Theory! 🙂


Leave a comment