jump to navigation

A Freak Of Nature. May 3, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Here’s a wildflower which I at first thought was a Yellow Trillium, but now believe to be an uncommon variation on our standard local red trillium:

…as witness its intergrowing with the more common red variety.

True “Yellow trilliums” are pure yellow, while this variant has reddish veins throughout:

Regardless, it’s beautiful, and apparently popular with the local invertibrates as well:

These I found up at McLeod Pond up in Colrain, MA and captured with Ziggy, my 50mm Sigma macro lens.

Comments»

1. susancrow - May 5, 2012

Do you think it might be an albino? As I remember white trilliums are the Provinclal flower of Ontario and we were always warned in school never to pick one because to do so kills the plant.

2. littlebangtheory - May 6, 2012

Susan, I’m not sure the term “albino” is relevant here, or even pertains to plants. There’s obvious color, though it’s atypical for the region. My housemate and photographic mentor Lizz wondered if they were a cross between red and painted trillium, but I see no sign of the central “painting” which adorns the latter.

So I guess I just don’t know. Perhaps a plant biologist will weigh in (I pointed them out to a pair of biology students from UMass who were passing on the not-too-distant trail…)

3. jomegat - May 7, 2012

Nice shots. I haven’t found any trilliums yet this year. Sigh. I might find some in two weeks when we head back up to Maine for an annual event. I’ve seen them there in the past, so maybe I’ll get lucky.

4. littlebangtheory - May 8, 2012

j, they’re so plentiful here that in some places one can’t walk in the woods without trampling them! Good luck up in Maine.


Leave a Reply

