jump to navigation

On The Beach. June 28, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

My recent trip east to The Sea left me with, among other things, this shot of the sand on the wind-whipped southern tip of Plum Island:

detritus

Fragments of grass had been cast in sand, carved in relief by the wind  and colored by Mother Earth with the reds and browns of her world.

Between the bad light and the rain, this was kind of a low-percentage shot, , but I took it anyway, and I’m glad to have gotten what I got.

Comments»

1. sherry - June 29, 2009

i love the name, plum island. cool shot.

2. Randal Graves - June 30, 2009

Carries an off-kilter, charcoal pencil texture. Very cool.

3. littlebangtheory - June 30, 2009

Randal, long time no see! Yeah, you nailed it, the graininess of beach sand compounded with the high ISOs of a rainy day=pencil rubbings. I had no idea if this would come out, but it did.

Good to hear from you, man. Hope things are well with you. I’m such a poor reader these days, it’s pretty isolating. But you know, it leaves me alone with my camera, which I would eventually like to make my life’s work.

Anyway, good to hear from you, and glad you liked the shot.

Sherry, my little gnomish love, Plumb Island is way cooler than its cool name. It fits that you’d notice, being a Word-Woman. 😉

sherry - July 3, 2009

thank you! ; )


Leave a Reply

