jump to navigation

Mystery, Um, “Solved!” July 10, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in macro photos.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Remember these?

moss structures

…and my confusion about whether or not they were reproductive structures, given that I’d been told that moss reproduced sexlessly?

Well, a little Googlin’ revealed that, in fact, they’re sporogonia,  little capsules full of spores.  Here they are five days later, having a smoke after exploding in reproductive ecstasy:

sporogonia

Turns out sphagnum moss has the happy ability to reproduce both sexually (through spores) and asexually (through bits breaking off to form genetically identical clones.)

If I were moss, I suspect I’d opt for the former.

It’s really quite simple – here, let me quote from the web article where I learned this:

“The haploid spores are derived from diploid sporocytes by meiosis: After replication of the genome, homologous pairs of chromosomes come into close proximity, and crossovers of their chromatids may occur. During metaphase I, the chromosome pairs line up across the equator of the spindle; in anaphase I, they separate and move to opposite ends of the spindle. Subsequently, comparable to mitosis, two new spindles separate the chromatides during metaphase II and anaphase II. Thus, meiosis of one diploid sporocyte yields four haploid spores… “

Um…

‘k.

This will be on the test, kids!

😉



Comments»

1. Bob - July 10, 2009

LOL!!

Yessir, Dr. Science, Sir!

If I were moss, I suspect I’d opt for the former.

😀 you horn dog 😀

2. Bob - July 10, 2009

OMG! Just saw the tag: “incomprehensible gobbledy-gook”

You win Teh Internets!

LOLOLOL

3. littlebangtheory - July 11, 2009

Say, them’s some Strong-jawed Smileys yer puttin’ out! All I got is some Black-eyed Winkies!

😉

4. sherry - July 11, 2009

ooohhhhh baby!

5. Tina - July 13, 2009

Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

I myself have been trying to solve the mystery of this legend for a while now. Could not understand much though.

Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

6. distributorcap - July 16, 2009

i guess a rolling stone gathers no…

7. TheCunningRunt - July 17, 2009

DCap, good to hear from you!

Yeah, these stones weren’t rolling, and they gathered plenty!


Leave a comment