jump to navigation

Sating My Moss Obsession. June 18, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’ve always loved mosses, which will astonish nobody who’s followed this blog for any length of time.  And this past week of wet weather has brought the little buggers to fullness:

jellied moss

This is two distinct types of moss, the smaller “jellied” one being one of the dozens of types of sphagnum mosses found in the Northeast.  The taller one is a common club moss topped by what I assume to be sporophytes.   Moss, I currently understand, is an ancient plant and is sexless, reproducing through spores, so the red tops are not “flowers” as I had previously thought.

Live and learn, they say.   😉

Comments»

1. sherry - June 19, 2009

you know me, i’m a moss fan myself!


Leave a comment