jump to navigation

December Views. December 4, 2008

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags:
trackback

The past few weeks have been mostly cloudy, with poor light being the predominant visual element.  If it snowed, it would accumulate in dingy sheets beneath lightless pewter skies; if the sun broke through, it illuminated a brown and gray world.

But if you take enough photos of that stuff, some are gonna come out better than others, and here they are.

Mt. Greylock:

brown-greylock-small

I’d been working on the east side of the mountain, and scooted around the north end to get this shot at day’s end.

The moon is up from mid-morning into the early night.  This is a four o’clock shot:

crescent-moon-small1

Here’s day’s end at Lake Onata in the Berkshires:

lake-onata-small1

…as the  sun sets behind New York’s  Taconic Mountains:

taconics-small

And that’s that.

Comments»

1. Bobbie - December 5, 2008

The ones you took certainly came out beautifully. This is an impressive series.

2. littlebangtheory - December 5, 2008

Thanks, Bobbie. They’re culled from dozens of clunkers. I’m glad you find what’s left to be worthwhile. 🙂

3. Steve - December 5, 2008

“Brown Greylock Small” is gorgeous. That’s the kind of thing I try to capture, and the kind of composition I like to paint.

4. littlebangtheory - December 6, 2008

I actually thought of you when I took it. Your painting is so heartfelt, and these had that light. It’s yours to do what you want with.

5. Steve - December 6, 2008

Oooooo. Would you e-mail me a larger format of it?

6. littlebangtheory - December 7, 2008

Steve, check your mail; if you didn’t get it, give me a shout back and I’ll try again. 🙂

7. Suzer - December 29, 2008

Just found your blog through MadPriest, and what a small world it is! It is wonderful to find so many beautiful photos of my home in Western Mass.! I grew up in the Berkshires, and miss those mountains dearly. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos — I’m sure to be perusing through your blog for days to come. Peace to you, and Happy New Year!

8. littlebangtheory - December 29, 2008

Suzer, welcome! Glad you like the photos, and I can’t help it, they just pass through my camera and plop out here. 🙂

Georgia is a tad different though, isn’t it?

And hey, what’s the MadPriest connection? My link-back feature is strangely disabled, so I never know if people have mentioned something I posted, which I’m sure makes me look like an ungrateful cad.

Anyway, welcome, and do come back!


Leave a comment