jump to navigation

An Acidental Sunset February 21, 2008

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Went looking for the (essentially) full moon tonight, but froze my butt off atop Windsor Mountain, with temps in the single digits and a consistent westerly wind of indeterminate speed. Suffice it to say that my many layers, from micro-pile undies to down coat, were insufficient.

The moon was playing hard-to-get, but you know, as a “real” photographer (and a guy who paced a mean track in the snow trying to stay conscious) I happened to look around, and snagged this “consolation prize” :

moonset2-small.jpg

Never piss on a sunset while you’re waiting for the moon.

Comments»

1. sherry - February 22, 2008

that’s a great quote!

2. notfainthearted - February 22, 2008

What a beautiful picture! Isn’t amazing how a field of snow can look like waves of water in this light?

3. Jess Wundrun - February 22, 2008

I agree with Sherry. Maybe Cafe Press will do a t-shirt for you!

Beautiful pic. We got to see the eclipse from the comfort of our living room. As it was -15 outside, I was pretty happy ’bout that.

4. Paul (the Byziwhatsit) - February 22, 2008

Stunning photo and I featured your closing line at my place. Love it!

5. FranIAm - February 22, 2008

Yes he did feature your line indeed! Paul the Byziwhatsit that is!!

This is amazing. Like always.

Like you.

6. littlebangtheory - February 23, 2008

Sherry, Jess, thanks – just fell out of my sleep-addled mouth. But yeah, it says what I meant, what I felt at the time.

notfainthearted, welcome to my world, and yes, it looks to me like the tilting surface of a monstrous storm at sea, transposed against the woods of where I live.

Paul, thank you. I saw that and was humbled. Strong words of praise from such high places are more than I deserve.

And Fran, my friend, you’re too kind. Like always!


Leave a comment