jump to navigation

The Beginning Of A Great Adventure January 4, 2008

Posted by littlebangtheory in Love and Death.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So. Life Is Good.

But it’s complicated, too.

I’ve had it pretty good for the last fifty-four years. I’ve worked hard, played harder, bummed around the country, climbed mountains in just about every state which has them, had a loving wife, raised two beautiful daughters of whom I couldn’t possibly be more proud, and dodged many of life’s bullets, even when my own careless actions could have put the target boldly between my eyes.

Thank You, Mother Earth. Thank You, Father Sky!

But nothing is ever free, nor should it be. And while my life has been good, lots of people have been carrying heavy loads. And many of them haven’t gotten to travel around the country or hang loose in the desert or sleep under the stars on an un-named peak.

So the Wheel turns, and it’s my turn.

Seems my left shoulder needs work. Surgical work.

Like a LOT of surgical work. With a couple of weeks of serious unpleasantness, followed by a couple of months of being one-armed, and a year of “recovery,” culminating, as I understand it, in a not-insignificant chance that it won’t be worse than it is now.

That is to say, I may be able to lift my elbow off my side, a year from now, if I get lucky and do everything right.

Not exactly the prognosis I had hoped for, but you know, we don’t always get to make those calls, do we?

Not to fear though (leave that to me!) I’ve been counted out before, and I’m still here. I shattered my forearm in 2005 and was told I’d be out of work for six months and would never climb again; I took the rest of the week off and was back to climbing in two months.

Admittedly, this is different – I have one of the country’s top surgeons on my case, and he looked pretty discouraged as he gave me the news.

But he doesn’t really know me, so I’m not totally buying it. I’m a rasty little bastard, and I’m gonna fight like a rabid chihuahua to get back to good.

Wish me luck.

Meanwhile, as Lou Reed (remember The Velvet Underpants?) said, “It’s The Beginning of a Great Adventure!”

Yesterday I drove my five-speed stick shift around all day with one hand. Steer with the knees, shift while you’re going straight. Takes a bit of planning, but it’s not magic. Learned that trick back when i was a joint-rolling hippy. “Look Ma, no hands!

And shoveling snow? Done it. Saturday. Took a bit longer, but hey. I’m young, right? Right??

Oh, and for a real hoot, time yourself tying your shoes with one hand. Best effort so far: both shoes, one minute flat. I’m sure that will suck when I’m late for work, but fuck ’em if they can’t take a joke!

Then there’s the Alternate Solution: Ctrl+Alt+Del had me bummin’ ’till I noticed the right-hand Ctrl – voila! Like magic! I just needed to look a little harder.

But the real Bottom Line is, I’m nowhere near throwing in the towel. I intend to be able to tuck my shirt in again, and I intend to be able to get a glass down out of the kitchen cabinet again, and I intend to climb again.

And while I’m working toward those things, I have a lot of other things I’ll be working on. Like photography. Like writing. Like learning to read again. All those things my Type-A hyper personality hasn’t let me do for the last fifty years.

So if you notice I’ve been absent for a while, it’s ’cause I’m in an opiated coma. Consider it a blessing.

And if you notice I’m back and I sound like I’m drooling, it’s ’cause I am.

But don’t count me out, and keep checking back every once in a while, because people, I like you too much to stay away, and I like me too much to stay down.

With a little luck and a lot of hard work, I might even come out of this a better person, broader, stronger and In Sh’Allah, wiser.

Hey, I can Dream, can’t I?

It’s the beginning Of A Great Adventure.

Comments»

1. Tengrain - January 4, 2008

CR –

i had shoulder surgery in 2006, and while it was not a walk in the park, it came out OK. I have the full range of motion I had before (which was my biggest worry). I managed somehow to not overuse the other shoulder and injure it (my other big worry).

Ice was and is my friend. I just kept my shoulder moving and iced it whenever I could. I have to think about my posture when I reach for things on high shelves, but I need better posture anyway.

You can do it, man. I don’t know what your shoulder problem is, but I think I know you. Molly Brown was only unsinkable, she was not unstoppable.

Regards,

Tengrain

2. littlebangtheory - January 4, 2008

Gawd you’re quick!

(Did you ever expect a MAN to be saying that to you??)

Thanks Ten, I’m always happy to hear success stories, and could certainly use the encouragement right about now.

Unfortunately, I have a lot of muscles torn off my humeral head, and most of them are older (undiagnosed) injuries which probably can’t be repaired (though The Man is going to try, and he’s one of the top dozen surgeons in the COUNTRY, so I’m diggin’ that pretty hard!)

The most recent detachment (six months old) stands the best chance of getting fixed, though it should have been done right away for the best outcome. But, as a Typical American, I couldn’t afford to take time off of work, and had to wait for a winter lay-off (and i still have to show up one day a week or my employer will refuse my “unemployment claim” on the grounds that I’m not available for work.)

It’s kinda fucked up. But that’s life in the Good Old USA! šŸ™‚

3. Phydeaux S - January 4, 2008

If you need any help reaching stuff, I could send one of the Secret Lair Kittehs….

Best o’luck@

4. Phydeaux S - January 4, 2008

Gaah!

Try a “!” instead of a “@” on that last comment.

5. Suzi Riot - January 4, 2008

I wish you very, very good luck with your recovery. Take good care of yourself and if you aren’t able to post or make the blog rounds as often, well I’ll miss you, but I most definitely won’t count you out. Wish I could offer more than the best of luck with all of it. But best of luck!

6. Mauigirl - January 4, 2008

Best wishes on your surgery. I’ll be thinking of you and checking back often for updates on your condition! I’m sure all will go well and you’ll be back to your old self sooner than they think!

7. QuakerDave - January 5, 2008

Best of luck with all that. I’ll be holding you in the Light.

8. beatgrl - January 5, 2008

Now I REALLY wish I could come over and cook for you! Enjoy the reading (and the opiates.) With your great attitude you will get through the healing and out the other side just fine.

9. littlebangtheory - January 5, 2008

Thank you all for the kind thoughts!

Today is Stock–the-Pantry-With-One-Handed-Food Day. And peel-and-chunk-a-bunch-of-butternut-squash-and-put-it-in-the- freezer day. And hit-the-dump, do-the-laundry day. And find-clothes-I-can-get on-one-handed day.

And let Elder Progeny take me out to lunch day! That will be the most fun part!

10. Randal Graves - January 5, 2008

Best of luck to you my friend, and only going by what I’ve read on your blog, you’ll fight for control that motherfucking shoulder like a maniac. And you’ll get it.

11. BAC - January 5, 2008

Hey, CR … best wishes are coming your way from Washington, DC. The pups, Bart and Bella, send their best as well … and Bella wanted me to tell you that she has mastered walking on two legs, which leaves two paws for reaching if you need any assistance while you recover.

BAC

12. sherry - January 5, 2008

take good care and pay attention to the pt’s. rehab’s supposed to be a real tough go. my kid’s a mpt, but in the long run it’ll be worth it.

me, i always typred with 1 finger so i know you’ll be back blogging soon!

13. Mathman6293 - January 5, 2008

I have no experienced advice to offer but good luck and I hope it goes well.

14. Spartacus - January 5, 2008

CR, I’m sorry to hear about your shoulder and happy to hear that it’s not getting you down. Injuries suck, especially ones that require surgery or long periods of convalescence. Glad to see your back blogging. Even if it is one handed.

15. dcup - January 5, 2008

I’ll be keeping a good thought for you, C.R. Let us know if you need a small army of beautiful nurses to help tend to your recovery. Perhaps we can do a fundraiser or something for you.

Hope the reality is better than the prognosis.

16. PissedinNYC - January 5, 2008

Best of luck. And if they suggest physical therapy….do it. I haven’t injured my shoulder, but I did herniate a disc in 1998 (had an “event”). Crawled on my hands and knees for two days. Horrible pain. But, I went to physical therapy three times a week and did my exercises at home the other days, and at the end of six weeks most of the pain was gone and I was discharged by my doctor–six weeks ahead of time. As for why I recovered so quickly, it was one part genetics (we heal well), one part going to physical therapy and–the biggest part–I did not let down my guard and re-injure myself. That last bit is really important. Hoping you have a speedy recovery.

17. FranIAm - January 5, 2008

Hey CR! Looking forward to seeing you soon so I can take the “before” photo and then we will do the “after” later.

You know that I am sending you a lot of good healing thoughts!

18. boxer rebel - January 6, 2008

Good luck CR!!!

You will be just fine with your vim and vigor you will get through this with little problem.

19. Comrade Kevin - January 6, 2008

I wish you well and lots of luck. You will be in my thoughts!

20. freidabee - January 6, 2008

Oh, I wish I could lend you a hand. I wish you the best of opiated comas, speedy recoveries and an efficient return. You will be missed, even if it is for a very short time.

21. littlebangtheory - January 6, 2008

Thanks folks. I’m tempted to just say, “BRB” but I’m not sure how “R” it will be. šŸ˜†

Your well-wishes are appreciated!

22. darkblack - January 6, 2008

I had to learn how to re-use a hand 21 years ago…My sympathies and best wishes, lbt.

23. Paul (the Byziwhatsit) - January 6, 2008

Your posts have been a joy to me–the scenery, the food! I am a total foodie so seeing photos or reading recipes, plus your comments…aah! Very sustaining, even if I cannot taste online.

I wish you the very smoothest of procedures with skilled and gracious medical personnel, great peace of mind, and everything in your body working together for swift and successful recovery.

24. fairlane - January 7, 2008

If you have a bum shoulder, who’s going to be my fifth starter this season?

Dammit CR, I was counting on you. We were counting on you.

Good luck brother.

Now you’ll have an excuse to try Dilaudid.

25. littlebangtheory - January 7, 2008

šŸ˜† šŸ˜† šŸ˜†

26. Jennifer - January 7, 2008

*Hugs*, Cunning.

Big, strong ones today and gentle, careful ones tomorrow.

27. PortlyDyke - January 7, 2008

My thoughts and prayers are with you, CR. Take your enzymes!
PD


Leave a comment