jump to navigation

Wilcox Hollow, Day Two. December 9, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I returned to Wilcox Hollow on the Deerfield river this afternoon with my housemate and dear friend Lizz, who loves details and liked what I brought home from there on my last visit.

She’s recently been attending far-flung workshops with world-class photographers and, I’m grateful to say, bringing home some useful pointers, which she generously shares with me.

Thanks, Lizz.

Here’s a bit of what I came home with today.

A reflection in a shallow, stranded pool:

_MG_5608

Dried grasses catching the slow drizzle of a December afternoon:

_MG_5620

Sprigs of vegetation refuse to turn brown, insisting instead on wearing their colors to the end:

_MG_5621

I chose a shallow depth of field to get this example to pry itself from its surroundings:

_MG_5616

But the geology here is composed of such extremes of light and darkness that it screams to be rendered in black and white.

So I did that with these next few shots.

A study in the placement of cobbles:

_MG_5604 B&W

Nature draws an animal in millions-of-years-old stone – bovine? equine?? Either way, the picturing long precedes the existence of the beast, so it’s just a silly human interpretation of a geological phenomenon:

_MG_5602 B&W

This venue, Wilcox Hollow, has a lot to offer to a photographer, and I expect to be back soon – perhaps as soon as tomorrow! πŸ˜‰

Comments»

1. emdoyle - December 9, 2012

The reflection is really cool. And the other shots are also wonderful.

2. littlebangtheory - December 9, 2012

Why thank you, Ma’am!

3. jomegat - December 9, 2012

I can’t get my head around that reflection shot. And I vote “bovine” for the b&w boulder.

4. littlebangtheory - December 10, 2012

j, I hope that’s a good thing… the reflection shot is inverted, a technique I developed a couple of years ago. It makes the reflection of the far-side woods look like a landscape, with the contents of the pool appearing in the sky. Works particularly well with vibrant Autumn leaves in the mix, but it’s ethereal with just about anything.

5. susancrow - December 13, 2012

The first shot I found beautiful but disturbing until I turned my computer upsidedown. πŸ™‚

The others are all wonderful but I particularly like the b&w’s.

littlebangtheory - December 14, 2012

That’s kind of the point of that first photo, to present you with an image which seems like one thing, but has an element of surreality which makes a viewer challenge their initial assumptions. I’m pleased that it had that effect on you!

And yes, the B&Ws are the heart of this post, and the reason I’ll be back at Wilcox Hollow when next it’s dismal and wet. πŸ˜†


Leave a Reply

