jump to navigation

Trinity Church. November 4, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

This afternoon I stopped by the Trinity Church in Shelburne Falls and shot this detail:

Actually, I shot a larger chunk of this building, liking the geometry of it, and cropped this detail out of it. I may put up some different crops of this same image, as sometimes looking at the parts  of a thing informs you about the thing.

UPDATE:

Here’s a different crop, using the same 2:3 aspect ratio as the original photo and the version shown above:

At the expense of losing the corbelled corner at the right of the first photo (which I liked,) this take echoes the proportions of the window, which I think focuses more attention on it. I also adjusted the blacks a bit.

What do you  think?

Comments»

1. Peter Gill - November 5, 2012

Can not tell you how many times I have been by this church and not really noticed this stone work. Thanks for highlighting it.

2. littlebangtheory - November 5, 2012

You’re welcome. I’ve been by it countless times myself, and I think I only got out my camera one other time.

This may also be the structure I use to explain the mechanics of “tilt” and “shift” for those who have asked.


Leave a Reply

