jump to navigation

Surfin’ The Maine Coast. September 4, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Action/Adventure, Love and Death.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

My friend Mike invited me up to his place outside of Portland ME for a visit, and a chance to get to know his sweetie Cindy.

What a wonderful few days! I slept late, ate like a pig, lounged on the beach and paddled out to an unspoiled island, all in the company of splendid people with generous hearts.

I know Mike from my paddling days, way back in the early 80’s. While my shoulders don’t let me do that anymore, he’s still at it, here surfing the waves on the Maine coast:

That’s not really the ideal surfing rig, being a sea kayak, but then I’ve seen Mike roll an aluminum Grumman canoe in flat water…

It’s a lot more work than your average surfer puts into the mix, though similar in many ways:

…find the energy and ride its crest. It’s kinetic joy!

Our friend Ross took his C-1 closer into shore:

…playing in the breaking waves on this beautiful summer evening.

This was a wonderful way to spend an evening, with the light fading westward as the beach people soaked up the last of the season’s energy:

Thanks to Mike and Cindy for their hospitality, and to Ross for his easy friendship and great humor.

And be forewarned, you Mainers – I’ll be back!  😉

Comments»

1. susancrow - September 10, 2012

The last shot is really stunning. I can almost feel the cold wet sand under my toes as evening washes away the heat of a summer day.

2. littlebangtheory - September 11, 2012

Susan, yes, it’s more my usual fare. I’m trying to get beyond the usual, though, without leaving it behind.

I’m glad you like it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

