jump to navigation

Evening Along The Deerfield. August 8, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

This evening’s skies looked like they might light up, so as the light grew low I headed down to the river.  First stop, the Route 8A bridge in the center of Charlemont, where the setting sun danced on the waters of the Deerfield river:

The light was nice, but the color wasn’t there.

After a few shots, I packed it in and headed eastward toward home.

But as often happens when  I pack it in, the light began to shift, and the colors bloomed, and soon I was accelerating past my driveway, heading toward a riverside view in East Charlemont which regular visitors to this site might recognize.  As I drove the eastern skies lit up, and I hit the binders just in time to get these takes on the fading light reflected in the river:

Our river is unusually low for this time of year, and the bones of its bed are exposed to whatever voyeurs happen by.  I’m embarrassed for it, and wish the roadside weeds would dress it more decently in its diminished state.

But that’s just me being anthropomorphic, feeling Nature in a way to which I haven’t a right.  It is what it is, and it isn’t really my business.

Still, I hope this is a passing phase.  My river can’t stand very much of this without losing a good deal of what it once was.

Comments»

1. Gina - August 10, 2012

Very beautiful shots.

2. TheCunningRunt - August 12, 2012

Thanks, Gina.

3. susancrow - August 12, 2012

Yes, the shots of the river and sky are the definition of glorious.

4. TheCunningRunt - August 13, 2012

sc, 🙂


Leave a Reply

