jump to navigation

We Interrupt This Festival Program… July 24, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

…to bring you a weather report:

It rained today.

That might not sound like Breaking News, but really, we hadn’t had any significant rain here for over a month.  The lawn is light brown and crunches to dust when it’s walked on; crops which aren’t irrigated are withering and dying in the fields.

This dry spell has meant that I spend about two hours a day spot-watering our garden, and have thus far  saved it from ruin at the expense of having to shut off the well pump when I hear the well (it’s right next to the garden) gurgling ineffectually.

I know, “water is precious, how dare you use so much of it like that!”

Here’s how:  eating is precious too, and THIS IS HOW I GET TO EAT.  I’m a starving photographer, remember?

And along with today’s copious rain came a nice bonus – the brown, dusty landscape was washed clean, and as mists rose from the grateful fields, I got out my camera and took a short ride.

Right outside the door, the Phlox looked more vibrant:

…but sunset was approaching as the storm receded eastward, and I wanted to get to a place where the Deerfield river was more open to the road, so I fired up my chariot and headed out.

I got to where I was heading just as God smiled down on our little berg:

I got down to the water’s edge to catch this reflection:

The light faded quickly, but not before a line of clouds lit up most wonderfully:

It was a nice end to a weather event we’d been needing badly.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled program.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

