jump to navigation

Peonies! June 11, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags:
trackback

My dooryard keeps coming up with new marvels, some of which are fleeting.

Peonies are lovely, but don’t survive a moderate rain.  So the logical thing to do, as I see it, is to pick them before the rain hits.

A bunch on my butcher block:

…and one in the yard:

These lovely blooms peel away in uncountable layers from a tight ball in their center, eventually revealing their sexy bits for pollination.

I wasted my youth denigrating peonies for their weak necks, but as a weak-necked oldster, I now get  them.

Comments»

1. Cathy - June 12, 2012

my photographic ‘specialty’ in recent years is closeups of flowers. first i grow them, then i shoot them.

nice peonies!

2. lisahgolden - June 12, 2012

We left our peonies behind in Illinois. I miss them even now.

3. TheCunningRunt - June 12, 2012

Cathy, that’s the way to do it right! 🙂

Lisa, I can’t imagine that Georgia isn’t hospitable to peonies, so… don’t miss them, grow them! 😆

4. susancrow - June 16, 2012

These beauties bring back fond memories of the peonies in my mother’s southern Ontario garden.


Leave a Reply

