jump to navigation

Spring Into Summer! May 30, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Spring’s wildflowers are the little ones which appear in the woods before the leaves unfurl and block the direct sunlight which fuels them.  They’re beautiful but transient, and I love them.

But they’re seen in the larger context as the opening act for the Girls of Summer, the wildflowers which bloom in the full light of roadsides and meadows.  In general, these are larger, heartier plants with showier blossoms, and these are what will anchor my photography for the next good while.

We’ll start with a roadside bloom of Ragged robin and buttercups along the side of route 8A in Hawley:

This might not show too well at blog-size, but it’s what my travels this day yielded.

Courtesy of Elliot, whose tilt of about three degrees gave me both the foreground and the skyline on a breezy afternoon.

Comments»

1. susancrow - June 3, 2012

I’ve been fond of buttercups since I wasn’t much taller than they are. It’s a beautiful shot that makes me feel like lying on that hillside to watch the clouds wisp by.

2. littlebangtheory - June 4, 2012

Susan, it’s beautiful indeed, but we’re being overwhelmed with deer ticks and lime disease so, most tragically, the grass is no longer a safe place to lay. I’m still struggling with that concept – I spend much of my time waist-deep in nature, and need to a) dose myself with DEET, b) wear a Tyvek suit (yes, really,) or c) inspect myself with a magnifying mirror before and after every shower, which still misses some of the tiny offenders. I’ve been treated for Lyme disease twice so far this season, and the antibiotics wreak havoc with the digestive system, as well as having other adverse effects.

“What a world, what a world……!!!!!!”


Leave a Reply

