jump to navigation

Canada Geese! May 3, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

On my way through Northfield MA to Vernon VT, I took Old Vernon Road (not recommended) past a startling number of ponds with pine snags, beaver dams and… geese!

Not that they’re rare, but they had goslings in tow, and I broke out Gizmo and my 2X Tele-Extender III, for a whopping 800mm of lens length.

Here are a couple of the shots I snagged, battling camera shake as I hand-held these shots:

Eight babies (one playing “duck” and Dad, if I read the family right.)

They were determined to get some distance between themselves and me, but I moved slowly and carried a big stick.

More shots from that foggy ride to come.

 

 

 

 

Comments»

1. Robyn - May 4, 2012

I love ducks! Really all water fowl. Also, saying “water fowl.”

2. lisahgolden - May 4, 2012

What great shots of birds I normally take for granted.

3. littlebangtheory - May 6, 2012

Robyn, that’s funny. Words do carry emotional triggers, and I don’t in any disparage amusement, it’s one of my favored mental states. 🙂

Lisa, they’re easy to dismiss when they’re crapping on the lawn in a public park, but seeing them “in the wild” and stalking them for photos (they wanted no part of it, in contrast to the more domesticated ones) gave me a very different sense of them, not Mean Geese or Shitting Geese or Get-Off-My-Lawn Geese, but rather gentle, private creatures just trying to raise a healthy family. It almost made me turn around and leave…

Almost. 😉


Leave a Reply

