jump to navigation

A Mighty Oak. March 27, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Along side a country road in Shelburne, a great oak stands sentinel over a pasture:

Its position up against a piney hillside made it hard to photograph with any clarity of form, so I did a bit of a walk-about to get it silhouetted against the afternoon sun:

It’s a magnificent specimen, fully six feet through in its trunk, with an eighty foot crown:

I bet it’s old.

These are courtesy of my 16-35mm L-series lens, one of my favorites for getting close to really big things.  I don’t use it enough, and this shoot reminded me of how much I like it!

Comments»

1. eileen - March 28, 2012

I love the first silhouette. I have a similar shot I took in Philly. They are just so pretty.

2. littlebangtheory - March 28, 2012

eileen, it’s a spectacular specimen, with such a presence I’m sure to be back through the seasons. I was a bit gobsmacked by it up close, and not quite sure what to do with my visual impressions, but this was a productive first effort IMHO.

3. susancrow - March 28, 2012

Magnificent. I especially like the last one.

4. littlebangtheory - March 28, 2012

Thanks, Susan. That’s my favorite as well. It has many of the elements which I strive for, and a few which I hadn’t anticipated!


Leave a Reply

