jump to navigation

Indisposed… March 16, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Love and Death.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

…Well, temporarily, and minorly when compared to the real troubles others face on a daily basis.

But I thought I should apologize for the gap here, between my intro to the Mount Holyoke Flower Show and its follow-ups.

Seems my recent gardening/hedgerow cleaning efforts put me in contact with something vile and poisonous.  I’m presently down for the count, barely able to type through the convulsing shivers of itching and burning, unable to touch my head because my swollen arms won’t bend that far, and sleeping fitfully only with the aid of some gone-by percoset I found while grubbing frantically through old bags of meds from past misadventures (remember the fore-arm x-rays?)

I tried three times to deal with this gently, homeopathically, but finally caved and got a prescription for prednisone, which has taken the situation down a notch, and as long as I’m moving in that direction, I won’t be jumping off any bridges.

Plus, my car croaked, and the only bridge within walking distance isn’t guaranteed to do the job right; with my luck I’d be more likely to become an uninsured paraplegic.

Oh, did I mention that I’m uninsured because I’m now unemployed, and just heard that my job won’t be coming back?

Life is good.

Somewhere.

Sorry, no photos of this train wreck.  If you saw my arms and torso, you’d hurl.  And if you remember the Michelin Tire Man, you don’t need to see a photo of Cunning Jr.  Suffice it to say that he won’t be going out to play any time soon.

Comments»

1. eileen - March 17, 2012

Wow! That is a lot to dealing with/against.for. Allergic reactions are no fun and are serious business. I’m sorry about your job. Despite what we hear about recovery, too many people are losing their jobs, and way of life. This seems to be especially true in New England where the rest of my family is. I hope things improve on all fronts soon.

To lift your spirits, I am sending this along. I hope you like the Muppets.

http://www.boingboing.net/2008/03/17/muppet-danny-boy-per.html

2. jomegat - March 17, 2012

Sorry to hear about your troubles Ralph. Do you have any idea what you got into?

3. littlebangtheory - March 18, 2012

Eileen, that was Teh Funneh! I actually stopped screaming (yeah, it’s that bad) long enough to wet my pants laughing. 🙂

And J, the only thing growing in that vicinity which I know I’m allergic to is poison ivy, which I stayed away from – at least the above-ground stuff. I could have encountered some stray roots, but the reaction came on very quickly, like RIGHT AWAY, and was characterized by long red welts topped with dark brown spots. I’ve really never seen anything like it. Ant there haven’t been any of the typical fluid filled vesicles common in poison ivy reactions, but only a few widely spread tiny ones, like chicken pox blebs, in a sea of angry red raised flesh. It’s very unsettling, and excruciatingly itchy and burning. Plus, it isn’t responding to prednisone and benadryl, so if I was the worrying type, I’d be a little bit worried.

4. eileen - March 18, 2012

Get yourself to a hospital. I had an infection once that did not respond to antibiotics or prednisone. My sister, a nurse, told me to go to the emergency room. I’m so glad I did. It turned out that my electrolytes were out of whack and this pretty much shut down my immune system. I was in the hospital for four days with bags and bags of different fluids to get me back to health.

Please get checked out. You can laugh at me later, okay?

Good luck.

5. Paul in ABQ - March 19, 2012

What Eileen said. And get well. We’ll be praying for you.

6. kkryno - March 19, 2012

Waiting for an update CR. Worried.

7. littlebangtheory - March 19, 2012

Sorry to keep you waiting, or make you worry unnecessarily, my friends. I too have been worried, but I have a personal philosophy which leads me to trust in nature to deliver the goods. Caving to pharmaceuticals was as far as I was willing to go as a second-tier response (homeopathy was the first,) and a couple of subsequent very bad nights made me question that approach. But having no insurance, job or savings, I held on for a sign of improvement, which I think I had last night – I got several hours of sleep, and woke feeling (and looking) a bit better. I wanted to wait ’till I had better news before responding to your kindnesses, and this is it.

Thanks for your concern, your thoughts and your prayers. It’s amazing, isn’t it? This blog-thingie makes for a great community, even though we’ve never met in the flesh.

Perhaps someday. 😉

…and I’ll keep you posted on the progress, now that the news isn’t so bleak!

eileen - March 19, 2012

Well, I am somewhat relieved. I was worried. It sounded like a spider bite.

Thanks for letting us know. It got me thinking about organizing bloggers – health insurance wise. I don’t know how it would work with ACA. There is supposed to be some kind of net, right?

Keep getting better.

8. susancrow - March 19, 2012

I came by hoping to see more of the beautiful flowers or whatever wonderful things you’ve seen and photographed since my last visit. I’m so sorry to read about all this trouble hitting you at once but I am relieved to know the worst of the allergic reaction seems to be passing. As for the rest, the combination is so big and has happened so fast, it’s hard to know what to say. The car, the bridge, the job! Geez. All I can do is send good wishes in your direction and my hopes that the other problems will be solved in the same way the rash is dissipating – by themselves and without causing the worst distress.

9. littlebangtheory - March 19, 2012

Eileen, not a spider bite, I’ve had them and never gotten more than an ugly localized reaction (though it WAS UGLY.)

The health insurance idea is interesting – there certainly are ENOUGH of us to make a pool! 🙂

Susan, thanks for the well-wishes. Yeah, when it rains, it’s monsoon season. But this too shall pass. The car is fixed (at the expense of breaking the bank,) and perhaps the job upheaval will nudge me in a better direction…


Leave a Reply

