jump to navigation

Evening Light. February 9, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Here’s a shot not of the warm light of evening when the sun comes to us through lots of atmosphere and the red wavelengths predominate, but rather of the reflected atmospheric light which characterizes the half-hour after sunset:

This is taken looking out across a meadow in high Shelburne, with southern New Hampshire’s Mount Monadnock visible on the left skyline.  It’s worth noting that this expanse of exposed ground is entirely atypical for Western Massachusetts in early February.

If one has a tripod and can snag a long exposure (this one was 2 seconds,) the camera will often pick up more of the Earth-shadow/pink-band effect than is obvious to the unaided eye.  Here I used a hand-held 3-stop graduated filter to balance the weight of the sky and ground, though it cost me the “shadow” part of what was happening on the eastern horizon.

Oh well, you give a little, you get a little…

 

Comments»

1. lisahgolden - February 10, 2012

That’s quite a vista. How you captured that strip of color is fascinating, sir.

2. littlebangtheory - February 10, 2012

Hi Lisa, and thanks for being so forgiving – nothing in the foreground, nothing in the sky, just some little dude musing about the mechanics of how to capture light. Sometimes thinking out loud helps me codify what I do instinctively, giving me a platform from which to improvise as the circumstances dictate.

3. susan - February 11, 2012

The word pellucid comes to mind.
See? You’ve enticed me from my verbal comfort zone.

4. littlebangtheory - February 11, 2012

Susan, what you said! 🙂

I had to look that one up – it sounded familiar, but damned if I could define it!

5. Laurie B - February 11, 2012

I read around on my blog places but hitting your place is like a welcome home at the end of a long day. NIce, and I thank you for all you share of our part of the world as you see it and share it.

6. littlebangtheory - February 11, 2012

Laurie, what a nice thing to say! I’m glad it feels like “coming home,” as I mean it to be an honest rendition of these parts. 😉

7. Gina - February 12, 2012

Trying to catch up with bloggers. I’m glad I came by. Lovely shot.

8. littlebangtheory - February 12, 2012

Gina, thanks. I’ve lamented your absence, as your eye and mind have been a balm to me through much of the time you’ve been blogging.

My needs aren’t crucial here, but please know that your contribution to this dialogue is greatly appreciated.


Leave a Reply

