jump to navigation

If You Love Music… January 30, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in music.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Whenever I’m in the Boston area on a weekend, I tune in to Emerson College’s radio station, WERS, and try to catch their afternoon All A Cappella show.

A cappella singing has come a long way from the (already amazing) Take Six days, and with the inclusion of beat-boxing (thank you, Rap!) it’s moved into the hard-to-believe realm.

If you can invest any part of the 5:35 it takes to hear the Boston University Dear Abbys take on U2’s “Where The Streets Have No Name” with nothing but their collective voices, I promise you won’t consider it to be time wasted.

Where The Streets Have No Name

I’m sorry there’s no video to accompany this, as I’d love to see it myself!

And BTW, you can live-stream this program at WERS.ORG.ย  I believe it runs Saturday and Sunday from 2pm to 5pm EST.

Comments»

1. backwater - January 30, 2012

Wow! That’s impressive.

2. Annie Anderson - January 31, 2012

The background vocals were virtuosic! Wish i could figure out how to arrange like that.

3. littlebangtheory - January 31, 2012

Welcome, you two! ๐Ÿ™‚

Yeah, it’s cool. I’m a rocker by birth and a jazzman by choice, but my Dad had a Navy friend who sang barber-shop, and I got addicted to that as a little kid. I see this as an organic extension of that addiction, coupled with the rest of my musical leanings in a previously unimaginable way.

I look for excuses to head Eastward on weekends, just so I can tune my radio to this feast! ๐Ÿ˜†


Leave a Reply

