jump to navigation

Get Alowng, Little Dawggie! January 19, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Love and Death.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The other day as I was tooling up West Hill Road in Hawley, I was “chickened” by a calf trotting down the road at me.  He was followed (loosely) by a woman walking, who stopped when she saw me approaching.

So did the calf.  He stopped, looked left, then right, then back at the woman behind him.  Then he attempted a slow-motion walk-around, stopping along side my car long enough for me to snag this sheepish cow-shot:

…all the while, with me doing my best Frankie Lane impersonation, intoning, “Keep movin’, movin’ movin’…”

He did a prudent about-face (wouldn’t you???) and went back up the road, with Gil Favor* here dawgin’ him all the way back to his pasture gate.

Turns out the woman in the road had been walking by when the calf wandered out into the road and was scared my way.  She retreated as I approached, and between those two circumstances, Li’l Beefer got home safely.

Don’t you just love a happy ending?  😉

*I hope those of you too young to remember the TV show “Rawhide,” where Clint Eastwood got his break as a co-star, will forgive my dust-farting indulgence!

Comments»

1. Mauigirl - January 19, 2012

Ah yes, I remember Rawhide! Cute pic.

2. jomegat - January 19, 2012

My knowledge of Rawhide comes courtesy of “The Blues Brothers.”

3. littlebangtheory - January 19, 2012

Oh, j, you missed a good one. Rawhide was both iconic American myth and a preview of the amazing Clint Eastwood, a man since disclosed to be of many talents.

MG, yeah, he was a cutie! 🙂

4. Paul in ABQ - January 20, 2012

I am certain Rawhide played a role in the formation of my sexuality. Gil Favor and Rowdy Yates….. woof!

5. littlebangtheory - January 20, 2012

Paul, I hear ya! I told jomegat that Clint was amazing, and Mauigirl that the calf was cute, but then saw how my comment could have been otherwise interpreted… and still couldn’t disagree! 😆


Leave a Reply

