jump to navigation

Winter Views! January 15, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Mid-January is a heck of a time to start  posting seasonally appropriate views of winter…  but hey, it’s better late than never, as they say!

Snow coats everything in the high valleys, which are sheltered from most of the wind:

That’s along route 8A between Charlemont and Plainfield.

If you’re driving around in these conditions and need to find a rest-room, the bushes might be your only option.

Or, perhaps not:

Look for this on the right as you detour up West Hill Road.  🙂

And of course, some color combinations are just plain striking beneath the heavenly blue dome of a winter sky:

A working farm in the rolling hills of Shelburne.

These are all from Ollie, whose 24-105mm zoom range allowed me to compose from the driver’s seat, or at most from a very short walk away.

More to follow, as I make them presentable.

Comments»

1. Gina - January 15, 2012

Very nice! I’m no good at getting out there in the snow. It may take a puppy or a grandchild to get me to go out and play in the snow.

Love the outhouse shot!

2. susan - January 15, 2012

That’s a red, white, and blue design that I find very moving. It’s wonderful you got the snow you’d been longing for and delightful to see it through your lenses.

3. jomegat - January 15, 2012

The thought of using that privvy sends shivers up my spine. It’s four degrees above zero here right now. It was four below when I got up this morning.

4. littlebangtheory - January 15, 2012

Gina, I go out so you can stay in! 😆

susan, yes, I salute that every time I see it, a reaction I can’t always muster for Old Gory.

jomegat, I know! Working construction, I have the option most days of using The Blue Room and finding myself frozen to somebody else’ mistake like a kid on a flagpole, or heading off into the bushes. I’ll bet you know which one I choose… 😉

P.S., the UMass Outing Club cabin in Littleton, NH has a padded toilet seat hanging near the wood stove, to be taken out on those -30F nights (there are many up in the Whites.) It not only provides luxury in the maw of a searingly cold night – its absence acts as an “occupied” sign, saving you the trip out when you’d have to stand in the cold waiting!

jomegat - January 15, 2012

That is brilliant. My Dad grew up in KY & IN where it doesn’t get that cold, but the outhouse still presented problems. He would employ stilts for nighttime runs to prevent his feet from becoming sodden from the bedewed grass.

5. TheCunningRunt - January 15, 2012

j, that’s priceless! 🙂

As an aside, I guessed you had Southern roots, despite your obvious love of winter. There’s something about your attitude that’s relaxed and connected to the earth, and which I find really uplifting, and very Southern.

Thanks for being a better visitor than I am and coming by as often as you do. I’m trying, but I have that Yankee stick up my butt, you know…

😉

jomegat - January 15, 2012

I’ve spent the greater portion of my life in the south: AR, KY, VA, and if you want to call it that, IN. Dad was in the Air Force so we got around a fair bit (but never overseas). We spent four years in ND too, and I did love having snow on the ground for more than a week at a time. You could put your heart into a snow fort and it would still be there next month!

6. Bob - January 15, 2012

Wonder full. Love the roadside privy. 🙂

And, at the risk of repeating mysel’… SNOW!!!

(that’s the same barn as in the other day, right?)

7. TheCunningRunt - January 15, 2012

j, I hear ya. I used to build quinzees for the Grrrlz (snow caves, I’m sure you know,) only to watch them sag and become unstable, meaning I had to break them down before something tragic happened, so I can imagine the angst involved in building snow forts in warm places!

Cuz, thanks. That privy tickled me as well. 🙂

And that’s not the barn in the Jan 13 post, but it is a barn I’ve photographed many times before, and in all seasons, as it’s an amazing place and just a few miles from home.

8. Lisa Golden - January 16, 2012

Oh my. You make it so easy to enjoy winter from afar. These are wonderful.


Leave a Reply

