jump to navigation

Finally. January 13, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I love winter.

I mean, I love summer, and spring, and fall.

But I love  winter.

So it’s been a disappointment to me so far this season to not have snow.

But as of yesterday, that’s no longer an issue.

Here are a few shots I found while wheeling around the hilltowns today.

A barn almost in the village of Shelburne Falls:

It was snowing pretty heavily at this point.

So naturally I set sail for Parts Unplowed, and found myself once again way up in the hills of Hawley, beyond the poles and wires of civilization, the buildings with actual lights in them, the last sliming belly-tracks of the town Dune-worms, to the point at the top of the hill where some local had proceeded me with his (I’ll assume) plow six inches off the dirt.

Hey, if my undercarriage isn’t floating, my tires have a chance of biting, and that’s about all I need.  Besides, from the top of the hill, gravity is on my side.

So down I went, passing an old cellar hole with its chimney mass standing starkly in the maw:

…a logging operation parked ’till the storm passes:

(They had apparently plowed this little stretch of the road, which was near the Berkshire East ski area wind turbine)

…and an inexplicable incarnation of piano dolce  sitting beneath a tree:

Pianissimo,  indeed!

That shot was taken in gusty wind and heavy snow, and required three tomato stakes, a big hammer, a bigger umbrella, several bungee cords and a buttload of heavy lifting from Elliot.

Plus a period of time where I sat in the wet snow and pulled the levers.

So anyway, I made it out, winter’s here, I’m happy, and it’s late, so I’m going to bed.

G’Night.

Comments»

1. jomegat - January 13, 2012

I’d love to know the story of that piano. It begs to be told!

2. Bob - January 13, 2012

Snow.

SNOW!!

SNOW!!!

I like it. 😉

3. littlebangtheory - January 14, 2012

Yeah, SNOW.

It’s about time.

4. lisahgolden - January 14, 2012

Now that’s more like it. You even gave us a shot with the snow coming down. Thank you.

5. Randal Graves - January 14, 2012

WOO! (shorthand for ‘I concur wholeheartedly about the swankitude of winter’)

Mauigirl - January 14, 2012

And I love your photos of winter!

6. eileen - January 14, 2012

Awesome!

7. susan - January 14, 2012

The piano shot is very nice and I can understand the effort but somehow that barn with the snow falling is quite wonderful.

8. Hidden « Jomegat's Weblog - January 14, 2012

[…] Little Bang Theory – Works for his photographs, and it shows! […]

9. littlebangtheory - January 15, 2012

Thanks Folks. And susan, there are “interesting” shots, and there are shots which capture a sort of iconic beauty. The piano shot is interesting; the barn captured in a heavy snowfall speaks to something primal in our environment, and in our beings. It’s my favorite as well. 😉

jomegat, thanks for the shout-out. You’ve dropped me into the midst of some pretty good company!

10. Miz Lu(mena) - January 17, 2012

All very nice, friend, but really….Pianissimo indeed!

11. littlebangtheory - January 17, 2012

True Dat, Miz Lu. I suspect he picture (as per jomeget’s first comment) tells a different story to every viewer, though I’m afraid the actual truth resides very near to “Where can I ditch this broken old thing?”

Still, it’s an evocative image… 😉

And I did note that it wasn’t just dumped; it wouldn’t have been left standing upright if it wasn’t loved.Maybe that’s where the story is.


Leave a Reply

