jump to navigation

Nightfall. January 7, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Last night’s sunset was spectacular, though I was driving around in Home Emergency Crisis Mode and didn’t have time to set up a proper shot (this one was hand-held out my car window):

While this was being gloriously reflected in the Deerfield river at the Route 8A southbound bridge, I was furiously hunting for a way to either corroborate or dismiss my house’s screaming carbon monoxide alarm.  I settled on a new monitor to be set up along side the wailing one in the upstairs hall, and when the new one registered nothing I assumed the old one to be the victim of dust and spiders (not uncommon in these old houses.)

Anyway, the photo I got was only blog-worthy, but sometimes living trumps taking photographs.

Tonight though, with no life-threatening emergencies to deal with, I took the time required to get this shot of the (almost) full moon rising over our starlit barn:

I stopped this down (f/20) to necessitate a thirty-second exposure, then “light-painted” the prayer flags in the foreground, a technique frequently use by photographers of the night to get foreground elements to register.  I know, it’s a clunky effort, but I’m just learning, so I’ll take it.

Have a good night – I’m off to bed.

Comments»

1. eileen - January 8, 2012

What a beautiful sunset. And how fortunate to have to be driving around in search of an alarm and see that at the same time.

Thanks for the tip about how to include the foreground. I love the stars on the barnside.

2. susan - January 8, 2012

You’ve posted many more marvels since my last visit and I remain very impressed. It’s nice to have a place to go where I can look at beautiful pictures and hear common sense.

3. littlebangtheory - January 8, 2012

Eileen, my dear friend and housemate Lizz is presently out West on a photo safari, and is connecting with Full-Size Ralph (my name for him, for reasons which would be obvious if you saw the two of us together) who knows lots about night photography. Lizz is the conduit through which these tidbits get to me, so I thank them both!

Susan, to have my photos respected by a real artist is flattering, but to have my ramblings respected by a clear thinker is infinitely more so. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

