jump to navigation

Enter 2012. January 1, 2012

Posted by littlebangtheory in Love and Death, Politics and Society.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Well I totally blew off blogging through the Holidays.  My ‘puterbox was relegated to a deep-freeze room to make way for food and guests, and I really couldn’t sit out there with a coat and hat and gloves and think cogent thoughts, much less type.

So, to make up for lost time, Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, Happy New Year, etc., etc., etc.  Please excuse my unbridled enthusiasm – the overtly commercialized nature of this time of year has left me somewhat (!) cynical.

Still, I’m grateful to report that my older daughter is doing well on the West Coast, my younger daughter is doing smashingly in Boston, and I’m newly among The Unemployed.

That latter bit of info manifests as a double-edged sword.  I’ll have paltry dollars to deal with life’s exigencies, but plenty of time to follow my Muses.  Let’s hope that results in a Great Leap Forward on the artistic front, though at this point I’m depending on Mother to provide me with some semblance of winter to replace Ugly Season with the purity of newly fallen snow.

Meanwhile, here are a couple of the details I’ve pried loose from the desolate brown landscape we’ve thus far called “winter” hereabouts.

Rocks, Rivers and Ice:

That’s a shot of melting ice along Pelham Brook in Rowe, MA.

And here’s another:

I especially like the distribution of weight in the second one.  The light balances the dark in a very comfortable way.

So Here’s to the New Year, fraught as it is with potential and peril, obstacles and opportunities.  We Old Farts have seen a lot of this before, and many of us remember what it took to set our Ship of State on a more proper course in the late 60s, and I dare say we’ll do it again, and with a vengeance.  I mean, it’s not OUR futures we’re standing up for, as our futures are largely behind us.  But coupled with our desire to secure a better future for our kids is an acknowledgement that with every passing day we have less to lose and more to gain from pursuing truth and beauty and justice.

2012 is another chance to make a difference, and I intend to try to do exactly that.

Please say you’ll join me.

 

Comments»

1. Laura - January 1, 2012

Long-time lurker and appreciator joining you. Happy 2012 and very best wishes to you and yours.

2. Mauigirl - January 1, 2012

I too abandoned blogging over the holidays; in fact, even before that. But now I am hoping to get back into it. Ironically when I was working I blogged a lot more than after I retired! Love the pictures, as always. Let’s hope 2012 is a better year for everyone!

3. littlebangtheory - January 1, 2012

Laura, welcome, and happy New Year to you. Thanks for lurking and looking and for the well-wishes.

Mauigirl, I wonder if unemployment will increase or decrease my postings – there’s something to be said for being on a schedule.

Thanks for liking the pictures. They’re a work in progress, and I intend for them to get better.

4. Gina - January 2, 2012

Those are gorgeous!

5. littlebangtheory - January 2, 2012

Thanks, Grrrl. Though my internetz is creeping along so slowly that photos are refusing to load, and I don’t remember what pics I posted! 🙂

** OK, they’re back, though connectivity is still sketchy. I’m glad you like them, and expect to get more to share when the temps drop again.

6. lisahgolden - January 2, 2012

Beautiful words and beautiful images. I have time on my hands and intend to make the best of it.

7. littlebangtheory - January 2, 2012

Lisa, that’s what we’re here for – make the best of what we’re presented with, and perhaps make it better for our kids.

8. Paul in ABQ - January 3, 2012

Best wishes for 2012, CR. Having spent much of the prior decade unemployed or semi-employed, I do hope all will be well. I know you will make good use of your time. Grateful, as ever, for your stunning photography and the generous sharing thereof.

9. littlebangtheory - January 3, 2012

Paul, same back atcha. Like you, I have many irons in the fire and will try to seize the opportunities as they present themselves. And thanks for once again speaking kindly of my efforts. 🙂

10. susan - January 8, 2012

I’ll join too.

11. littlebangtheory - January 8, 2012

You’re not “joining,” Susan – you’re in on the ground floor. 😉


Leave a Reply

