jump to navigation

Starlings By Starlight. December 30, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Well, perhaps not starlings, but it sounded poetic, didn’t it?

Tonight’s pilgrimage to our local supermarket yielded this image of a flock of little birds bedded down in the scrub trees between the parking lot and adjacent Route 2:

They sat beneath the gibbous moon for their ten-second portrait without twitching.  It’s a miracle!  😉

Housemate and Friend Holly has me seeing more of my subjects in black and white, which totally suits this dismal season.

I hope you agree.

Comments»

1. eileen - December 31, 2011

I like the black and white image. We have a bush of budgies down the block that I keep meaning to capture by camera. I can’t believe they sat for 10 minutes. Were they sleeping?

Happy New Year!

2. eileen - December 31, 2011

10 seconds, not 10 minutes

3. littlebangtheory - December 31, 2011

Eileen, they did indeed sit sleeping for ten minutes while I attempted to take long exposures with my camera wedged between my car and side-view mirror (with awful results,) then got out, set up a tripod and snapped the shot you see here. Then they began flitting around, so I guess my timing was just right! 🙂


Leave a Reply

