jump to navigation

A Half-Moon… November 2, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

…rises over Pelham Lake in Rowe, Massachusetts:

This shot is a collaboration between my eyes (hey, I saw it first! ), the Mad Skilz of Elliot, who laid a vertical plane of sharp focus along the shoreline rock and trending toward the rising half-moon (1-1/2 degrees of swing,) and Photoshop, which allowed me to shoot fast (4 seconds) in the waning light and still be able to adjust the exposure later, bring up the dark areas, and sharpen it a bit.  Still, it involved a funky set-up with me lying in the pond-side mud and holding a reverse graduated filter reeeely  still for the duration of the exposure, so I won’t be falsely humble regarding the results.  I hope you like it.

This was the first time in eons  that the wind was calm enough to capture a reflection, and I loved it enough to get disgustingly muddy.  We’re deep into Ugly Season, with most views being primarily brown and most waterways (my favored venues) being littered with the destruction of Irene.  So it pleases me to find anything, anything  which looks at all natural these days.

Thank you, Pelham Lake.  Thank you, Rowe.

And thank you  for visiting.

Comments»

1. Bob - November 2, 2011

On my monitor, before scrolling, that picture was cut off just below that upper horizontal break in the rock… and I thought, damn, what a beautiful picture.

Then I scrolled down. Wow

And thank you for posting!

2. littlebangtheory - November 2, 2011

Bob, you’re welcome. And I just can’t help it – life keeps on happening, and here I am with my camera. It just sort-of happens to me, and I try to document it.

I suppose being willing to kneel/lie in the mud contributes to the end product, but whatever, life happens all the time, with or without a camera capturing it.

3. Paul in ABQ - November 4, 2011

Stunning, my friend. Thank you.

4. littlebangtheory - November 4, 2011

Paul, you’re most welcome. I’ve been scarce as a blog commenter, but really enjoying your dinners (I’ve gotten quite lazy in the kitchen, opting instead to stalk the waning light, arriving home too late to cook!)

5. Nandini - November 5, 2011

Amazing picture. I love the reflection. 🙂

6. susan - November 5, 2011

Wow. That truly is an amazing photograph. Thank you for being willing to get wet and holding still for so long. I’ll be back to look at it again.

7. Steve Funderburk - November 5, 2011

Stunning photos. Enjoyed meeting you today at Occupy Amherst.

Steve

8. littlebangtheory - November 6, 2011

Steve, thanks for visiting, and for the kind appraisal of my photography. It was good to meet you as well, and humbling to see the commitment of those of you who make these events happen. Thank you for caring enough to put your actions where your words are.

I’m sorry to have not gotten the Occupy photos up sooner, but expect to do that shortly.

9. UM - November 11, 2011

There are no words to describe how breathtakingly incredible this is. You made my night. xxxooo -U

10. littlebangtheory - November 11, 2011

Well, I’m glad you liked it! 🙂 I’m always happy to hear that. xoxoxoxo back atcha!


Leave a Reply

