jump to navigation

Lincoln Meets Jesus. October 31, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Politics and Society.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

We’re living through interesting times.

And they’re interesting in a huge variety of ways.  Science keeps turning pages in the Book of New Knowledge, and our Universe evolves into an ever greater mystery as we unlock its secrets.  Astrophysicists look back in time and see our Big House as it was many billions of years ago.  Biologists peer so deeply inside us that they see the micro-chemistry of our thoughts and emotions.  Engineers create things so tiny they’re invisible, yet so powerful they promise to change our conception of the possible.

And society is changing too.  The Middle East is evolving at a High-Speed-Internet rate.  Our Middle Class is collapsing into the fetid pile of the poor, their hands groping upward and grasping at our anxious ankles.

Meanwhile, God has blessed These United Stated so that we, the aggregate “we,”  are richer now than we’ve ever been.

So.  Do you  feel rich?

I know I don’t.  I feel used.  I feel taken for a ride.  I feel like Adam Smith’s Invisible Hand has been yanking my crank for lo these many years.  I feel like most acts of kindness I’ve conjured over my lifetime have been ignored by Karma, with every extra effort enriching someone else.

I feel a lot like the Occupy  people, except that I have financial obligations which keep me chained to the wheel, going endlessly around, pulverizing the dwindling days of my life into a protein-rich gruel for The Beast of Corporate Profits.  I’m dutifully going to work for The Man, while the Occupy  folks carry my blood and water to the forefront of our Nation’s consciousness.

The whole thing reminds me of a line from President Abraham Lincoln’s second inaugural address:

“It may seem strange that any men should dare to ask a just God’s assistance in wringing their bread from the sweat of other men’s faces…”

And there it is – the World’s Most Popular Republican talking about slavery, and therein stating a seemingly timeless truth: some  of us expect to profit from the efforts of the rest of us.

It seems wrong on its face, yet it’s ever been that way.

Jesus of Nazareth, the oft-referenced hero of the Radical Right, railed against the making  of personal wealth by the handling  of other people’s money.  As far as I recall, the only time the Man of Peace “went postal” was when he threw the Money-Changers [read: brokers/traders/short-sellers] out of the Temple [read: Wall Street, our current Altar of Avarice.]  And if that wasn’t explicit enough, he went on to proclaim that a camel would pass through the eye of a needle before a rich man passed through the gates of Heaven.

So much for the Mega-Churches which preach that God wants you to be wealthy.  It’s total Fundamentalist Bullshit.

So, how does this relate to our present situation?

Well, we have skads of rich fucks claiming that they deserve  to be rich because they’re better  than you and me, because they’re smarter  than you and me, because the work harder  than you and me.

And I’m here to tell you that that’s MORE BULLSHIT.

I daily watch working folks go home and care for their failing parents, and nobody  is better than that.

I daily watch working folks navigate the rigged-to-fail mazes of their every day lives, and nobody  is smarter than that.

I daily watch working folks operate jack-hammers, and nobody  works harder than that.

Nobody.

Not the Filthy Rich, nobody.

And I think it’s time we all stand up and say so.  I think it’s time we all write our political representatives and DEMAND that THEY say so.  I think it’s time that we all get behind the Occupy movement, with our words and our feet and our dollars, and SAY SO.

This is our  time,  just as it’s the time of the people of Tunisia and Egypt and every other place which demands social and economic justice.

Lincoln wasn’t wrong, Jesus wasn’t wrong, and We The People aren’t wrong either.

The only thing Evil needs to succeed in this world is for Good People to do nothing.

Do  something.  Rise up.  Speak out.

Your children deserve at least that.

Comments»

1. eileen - October 31, 2011

This movement is not going to go away because politicians are not doing anything to make the changes needed.

I read Pat Buchanan’s threats about how this is going to be like the 60’s and end badly. And that ended badly because of people like him who stirred things up to violence (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mobileweb/2011/10/30/pat-buchanan-occupy-wall-street_n_1066143.

The movement continues to grow. I am heartened to read about protesters in Tahrir Square supporting Occupy Oakland. Is it a universal, global recognition that we are all in it together?

I wish I had a solution that would really change things. But I promise I will call and write and speak out wherever I can.

Peace.

2. sherry pasquarello - November 1, 2011

yes, right on! : )

3. littlebangtheory - November 1, 2011

eileen, worldwide, we’re the 99.99 % at best. Those people in Egypt shed blood to get it right, while we’re still far to comfortable for that. But we’re moving ever closer to a time when we too will have had enough, and then it will get really ugly, and then we’ll win.

sherry, good to hear from you! I know you’re on this same page, and have been forever! 😉

4. Bob - November 2, 2011

The only thing better than when you post pictures, Cuz, is when you post words.

I can’t decide which are more powerful, so I’ll just say both!!

(also, your work, while it may be for “The Beast of Corporate Profits” is also for The People… because We drive on them bridges!)

5. littlebangtheory - November 2, 2011

Bob, indeed we do. I’m all about getting the roads right, even at the expense of making myself unpopular with the Higher -Ups. They never want to know the Truth, demanding instead an affirmation of their unsupported conclusions.

So I lay out the roads, and they build them. It might not be right, but it will work.

6. susan - November 5, 2011

If I could do so I’d post a link to this wonderful case you’ve made for sanity as the headline article on Common Dreams.


Leave a Reply

