jump to navigation

Vermont. October 10, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I took the day off today to cruise around Southern Vermont, hoping to find something photographable in this Season of Colors.  But I was being herded by Big Traffic and I got to pull over less frequently than I might have liked if I were truly in charge.

The resultant haul is almost entirely shot out of my driver’s seat, with the motor running and passing cars buffeting me with their highway-speed turbulence.

A hillside along Route 7:

A closer up shot of the action at roadside:

Windmills along a ridge in Searsburg:

More roadside colors:

A swamp maple doing its swamp maple thing:

…and, a bit further on, the famous mooses of  Bennington, painted like they’re on a mission:

There are dozens of these all about town, nearly all painted in the most non-representational way.  But that’s what I expect from the fine folks Up North – a different perspective.

 

Well, it’s late and I have to get up early, so that’s it for now.

G’night.

 

 

Comments»

1. Jay - October 11, 2011

Awesome photos. When I go around in my car and take pictures out the window I call it “Drive by shooting” – you got some great drive by’s there.

2. kkryno - October 11, 2011

Those skies look so crisp next to the foliage. All of our leaves are long gone, but with the exception of the freezing nights, we’ve had a nice week. That’s been a blessing beause I’m a bit behind on getting things ship-shape before the snow flies.

Thanks for the beautiful colors Ralph!

🙂

3. littlebangtheory - October 11, 2011

Jay, Vikki, thanks. It’s finally starting to “turn” locally, with stands of maples coming on strong, so for the next week or two I won’t have to drive so far to take photos of colors!

4. susan - October 12, 2011

Sorry you got pushed along by the traffic but you managed to catch a couple of keepers – like the magnificent swamp maple. Nice.

5. littlebangtheory - October 12, 2011

Thanks Susan. Yeah, there was a lot of shoot-and-run from the breakdown lanes, but it was really pretty and I didn’t mind so much.

6. Bob - October 13, 2011

Ahhhh-tumn. Beautiful as always.

7. littlebangtheory - October 13, 2011

Thanks, Cuz. 🙂


Leave a Reply

