jump to navigation

Shooting In The Dark. August 26, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: ,
trackback

My housemate and photographic mentor Lizz came out west this weekend to help bail the fruits of incoming Irene, and as tonight was disarmingly beautiful, we grilled a steak and ate in the dooryard.

After dinner we retired to the garden to practice a bit of what she’d learned about night photography in a workshop out West this past Spring, including light painting and the subtleties of long exposures in the digital realm.  Here’s my first attempt at the genre, a shot of the sunflowers in our garden:

High, thin clouds didn’t quite cooperate with my intention of capturing the stars, and a wireless remote problem had me holding down the shutter release for several minutes, so there’s lots of room for improvement here.  But still, it’s a shot of our sunflowers at night, with the stars up above them, and I’m diggin’ it.  Expect progress on this front as I work out the glitches and get it straight.

Comments»

1. Randal Graves - August 27, 2011

Hey, I like it. Motion above, stasis below.

2. Bob - August 27, 2011

And a damn fine first shot!

3. jomegat - August 27, 2011

Those sunflowers remind me of fireworks.

4. kkryno - August 27, 2011

That effect is so cool!

5. littlebangtheory - August 27, 2011

Thanks All. I really need to figure out my wireless remote release in the light, rather than attempting to do so by headlamp. But I had enough fun to be encouraged to keep at it! 🙂

6. susan - August 28, 2011

I can see a lot of possibilities developing from this method. The sunflowers really do look like fireworks.

7. Steve - August 28, 2011

I’m looking forward to seeing more of this. Shooting at night is like magic.

8. littlebangtheory - August 28, 2011

Susan, Steve, I’m excited to explore the possibilities. There are a lot of subtleties to night shooting that I haven’t yet figured out, but I intend to do so.

9. MadPriest - August 29, 2011

Wow! What a brilliant photograph. I’m well impressed.

10. littlebangtheory - August 29, 2011

MadPriest, welcome back! It’s been a while, and if you don’t mind hearing my confession, I must say that I’ve been a very bad reader. 😦

Hope things are well with you and that your vocational work is going along to your satisfaction.

I’m glad you liked that shot, but expect to do a good deal better than that in the near future. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

