jump to navigation

Sunflowers! August 7, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: ,
trackback

I got a little wild with the Sunflowers this Spring, planting no less than three kinds in the back row of our garden.  In theory, we should have knee-high saucer-size cut flowers, head-high reddish Mexicans and, above it all, the 10-12′ Giants descended of Russian stock (stalk?  😉 )

But timing is everything, and the Big Guys won’t be rushed.

So here are a couple of shots of the smaller guys as they make their first appearances at Chez Nous:

…and:

Those were very long (15 second) exposures, on accounta it was getting pretty late when I took them, and I stopped Ziggy down to f.22 to get good depth of field.  The low light wreaked havoc with my autofocus, though, so I’ll have to try again when next the light and wind cooperate.

Later, Peeps.

Comments»

1. susan - August 9, 2011

They’re very pretty just as they are and I’m happy to see you’ve had such success.

Do you remember I planted a whole bunch of them at Point Pleasant Park last May? That was before I’d ever seen just how much stuff is in serious growth competition there. No sign of a sunflower along any of the paths.

2. littlebangtheory - August 10, 2011

susan, sorry to hear your efforts were unrewarded (except for knowing that you tried!) Perhaps a summer survey of less overgrown venues will point you at a less competitive location. Lord knows the world could use a few more flowers. 🙂

3. noodleepoodlee - August 11, 2011

Beautiful! The color is delicious … particularly that yellow! Yummm.

4. littlebangtheory - August 11, 2011

Thank-you, np. They’re just starting to come in, so I should get some better ones soon!

5. kkryno - August 12, 2011

I LURVE sunflowers. They’re just so darned cheerful!

Beautiful job on growing them and capturing them.

🙂

6. littlebangtheory - August 12, 2011

Vikki, they’re the Baby Hueys of the flower world, big and sweet and more powerful than they’ll ever know. I lurves them too! 🙂

More to come, in sh’Allah!

7. eileen - August 19, 2011

I love the reddish mexican sunflowers. I tend to love everything you do. Even though I did not live in Western Mass., the names of the towns and hills I know well.

I hope to put together a site of my own. These photographs are images that say things to me and capture my feelings at the moment. I write haikus to go with them.
One day…

8. TheCunningRunt - August 19, 2011

eileen, I once grew a sunflower plant with a dozen heads in a range of oranges, it was spectacular. Haven’t seen one like it since.

Wow, haikus to my photographs, I’m honored! And definitely do a site, just try not to be a slave to it – it’s potentially time consuming!

(Ask me how I know this…)


Leave a Reply

