jump to navigation

At The Potholes. August 1, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Our local “potholes” on the Deerfield river at Shelburne Falls are actually glacial plunge-pools, but hey, let’s not get picky.

Here are a couple of shots taken on different days in different light.  First, a sprig of that dastardly invasive, Purple lustrife:

It’s pretty and all, but I still hate that shit.  Perhaps it’s pedestrian of me, but I hate to see the changes happening to the “natural world” I know.  I’ve concluded that these changes are inevitable, and perhaps rightly so.  Pampas grass softens the marshes of Berkshire County, and so it goes, and so it goes.

But back here at “The Potholes,” the rock rules:

There’s something palpably Munch  about that shot, hand-held as it is and all.

Most summer days would see this place crawling with people, some sitting in the sun, some jumping from respectable heights, some finding rock slides and deep spots to plumb.  But this year it’s fenced off and posted, which I’m not sure is legal – the river bed below a usual high water level is public property.  But the cost to the town and county of responding to medical emergencies like, oh, say, drowning or breaking one’s neck or shortening one’s spine by misjudging a jump or slipping on the wet rocks and breaking bones was just too much for this little village.  Legal or not (and I don’t know that it isn’t,) the closure has solved that fiscal problem, and of course, saved some incautious people from the pain and suffering of earning a Darwin award.

Still, I miss getting down in there; the rocks are beautifully worn, and in the right light, amazing to photograph.  Today, these were hand-held and taken from the tourist overlook.

C’est la vie.

Comments»

1. Marja-Leena - August 1, 2011

Those are amazing rocks. I’d be out there taking loads of photos, being a rock lover. Funny, if you didn’t have that flower in the first shot, it would look like an aerial photo.

2. littlebangtheory - August 1, 2011

Marja-Leena, I can totally see that. 😉

3. jomegat - August 1, 2011

My brother – a geologist – would go nuts over this place.

4. Randal Graves - August 2, 2011

Otherworldly. I think sporting the gear of an astronaut might protect one who slips.

5. littlebangtheory - August 2, 2011

jomegat, did you get to stop by on your way home? I hope you saw this, it’s a one minute walk from the Bridge!

Randal, you crack that face shield and you’re a fishbowl. I prefer goggles and a modicum of caution. 🙂

6. Steve - August 6, 2011

I agree about the Munch on that last photo… “The Scream”

7. littlebangtheory - August 6, 2011

…not that I saw it as that when I took the shot; I was just looking to occupy the corners of the composition with something interesting and representative of the “potholes” idea. But I was amused by it as I processed the photo. 🙂

8. noodleepoodlee - August 11, 2011

way cool

9. littlebangtheory - August 11, 2011

Thanks. 😉


Leave a Reply

