jump to navigation

Again With The Bridge! July 29, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags:
trackback

Yes, again.  It’s right between me and the nearest stores/gas stations, so I pass there regularly, and it’s repetitive but it’s pretty.

Tiger lilies looking over the rail at the Deerfield river:

The Bridge of Flowers is in full bloom right about now, and well visited on a summer day:

Roses sweeten the air, while lavender cools the view:

It colors are uplifting:

The folks who tend this beautiful bridge pay attention to their work, as color combinations attest:

The full range of hues and colors was on display, and I played a bit with this non-classical composition:

I was trying to make the best of a shallow depth of field; I didn’t want to boot the ISO up, and it was consistently breezy, so I was shooting at f.5 or something.

The way things are going, the Bridge is going to bloom until it frosts.  I expect to be boring you with more visits before then.  😉

Comments»

1. Vikki/kkryno - July 30, 2011

I happen to love The Bridge of Flowers! So beautiful, Ralph. 🙂

2. Randal Graves - July 30, 2011

Where’s that confounded bridge?

The extra orange is spectacular and really dig the effects on the last one, as if the flower is emerging from a liquid hypnosis.

3. littlebangtheory - July 30, 2011

Vikki, thanks, me too. 🙂

Randal, it’s in the village of Shelburne Falls, MA, crossing the Deerfield river. And while flower shots are beautiful at a dime a dozen, I’m liking the less straight-forward ones best as well.

I used to have The Color Garden, a book by Malcolm Hillier, an excellent and revealing exploration of color combinations. That orange/blue combo was noted repeatedly as powerful, and it is!

4. susan - July 30, 2011

Just amazing colors and composition. Your pictures are a continual revelation.

5. noodleepoodlee - July 31, 2011

Lovely! And lovely to have a bridge of flowers between you and the gas station. I have a very uninspiring overpass.

Orange and blue are one of my favorite combinations.

6. littlebangtheory - August 2, 2011

susan, thanks. I work hard on the compositions, but the colors are all Mother’s. 😉

np, I’m grateful daily for the circumstances of my existence. The drives are nice, none too long… the scale and pace fit me.

And yeah, Orange and Blue Rule!


Leave a Reply

