jump to navigation

Experiments With Water. July 11, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Actually, experiments with absurd camera settings, mostly because I can.  😉

Here’s another shot of Tannery Falls, taken at last light, but still with a shutter speed of 1/250th of a second:

I didn’t want the water to be a silky sheet, but rather to retain some of its inherent “splashiness.”  (Holy cow, spell-check swallowed that one!  )  I got this image by booting the ISO up to a totally ridiculous 28,600 and begging my Canon 5D’s in-camera noise reduction to save me from my impetuousness.  It’s certainly not a “keeper” shot, but it was fun to experiment.

Here’s another way to go, ISO 100 with a long exposure, and Elliot tilted 1.5 degrees to lay down a plane, and converted to black and white (’cause it’s art,  you know):

I’m getting a little discouraged by WordPress’ rendition of these photos; the original is really crisp, and a lot of my stuff gets lost in translation.

But hey, I’m whining, so it must be past my bedtime.  😉

G’night.

Comments»

1. beatgrl - July 11, 2011

Wow, that bottom one is trip-ay!

2. beatgrl - July 11, 2011

I think I need to see a higher resolution of this. Do you have a photo page I can go to?

3. littlebangtheory - July 14, 2011

beatgrl, sorry, I don’t but I’m working on it. I’ll spray widely when I get it up and running.

It really is a worthy photo as a larger file, though. 🙂

4. susan - July 15, 2011

I’m glad you get to experiment so widely and then show us the results. Your compositions are always fascinating to see.

5. littlebangtheory - July 15, 2011

susan, coming from one with your considered eye, I take that as a high complement!


Leave a Reply

