jump to navigation

Tannery Falls. July 10, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: ,
trackback

I got up to Tannery Falls in Savoy this weekend, hoping to find running water and verdancy in the fading light of evening.  There was nothing much happening in the sky, and I figured a deep-woods outing was my best bet for some interesting photos.

I was right, sort-of.  I was late enough so that the low light was an issue, and I lost a lot of detail.  Still, it gave me a chance to push my camera’s abilities, and I played with some absurdly high ISO settings.  The results were mixed; there are  limits, after all.   😉

Anyway, here’s a smaller falls passed on the walk in; it’s an Easterly branch of flow which joins Tannery Brook just below the main falls:

The streamside stump first caught my attention there, and I wanted to get a close-up of it with the falls behind in focus as well, so I tilted the bejabbers out of Elliot, with satisfactory results.  Actually, sideways “tilt” is more properly referred to as “swing,” so let’s call it that.

This shot was the more traditional vertical tilt, giving much more depth of field than I would have otherwise gotten in such low light:

That was taken from about a foot off the water’s surface, allowing me to lay the plane of focus down on the low snags and still get the falls viewably sharp.

Farther down the trail I descended a long flight of stone stairs and turned a corner to see the main Tannery Falls:

It was bigger than I  had remembered it to be – perhaps ninety feet or so – and looked surreal in the dimming light.  I half expected to see a band of Hobbits descending the wooded path on the opposite bank.  😉

I’m loving this steamy summer weather, while dreaming of how this place will look in its Autumn finery.

That’s all for tonight.

‘Bye.

 

Comments»

1. Randal Graves - July 11, 2011

Swanky water shots, we love those, Mr. Frodo.

2. littlebangtheory - July 11, 2011

Cool. 🙂

3. Steve - July 14, 2011

The top two photos work beautifully in the abstract. Lots of energy which contrasts well with the cool blue and green hues.

4. littlebangtheory - July 15, 2011

Steve, I see what you mean, though the first is a bit confused – I wasn’t able to get the angle on the stump which would separate it from the background. But then, in your medium, that could be a minor problem. 🙂

5. susan - July 15, 2011

Amazing shots and I so love the way you share your process. Elvenhome is where we all should be.

6. littlebangtheory - July 15, 2011

Susan, I’m happy to think out loud here, amongst a small group of people I consider friends. The feedback I get is invaluable to me, and understanding what I’m trying to do allows you all to comment in ways that are relevant to my learning curve.

And what you call “Elvenhome” is, for me, a way of seeing. It’s recognizing the awesomeness of everything in the world; it’s Nature given its rightful place and stature, rather than being relegated to the roll of backdrop for our “more important” lives. If I could leave one thing behind when I’ve moved on, it would be that perception rooted in the minds of at least a few who remain behind.


Leave a Reply

