jump to navigation

Mothra!!! June 13, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Well, maybe not Mothra, but it was BIG!

I found this beautiful Luna moth (Actius luna)  on the job the other day, and rescued it from its floundering on a busy sidewalk – the crew had poured concrete all night under bright lights, and I bet by the time I found it (7am,) it was exhausted:

I put it up in a tree, which it climbed like its tail was on fire, hence the soft focus.  But at least it didn’t get Nike’d.

Then I found this guy (gal?) a bit later on:

It’s a Robin moth (Hyalophora cecropia,) the largest native moth in North America, with a wingspan in this case of about 6″.  I put it in the same tree, and it honored my efforts by posing for me.  I bet it gets its common name from its striking red breast:

…ya think?   🙂

These were taken with my 24-105 L-series lens, dialed in so I didn’t have to crowd the little buggers.  The depth of field missed the fluttering wings, but I wanted to lose most of the tree and background, so I’m not complaining.

But dang,  that was a BIG moth!

Comments»

1. Randal Graves - June 14, 2011

Next time, how about landing us a pic of Ghidorah and Rodan, huh?

2. littlebangtheory - June 14, 2011

I’ll try, Randal, but they run pretty fast when they see me coming.

3. susan - June 17, 2011

I’m delighted you got there in time to save the lunar moth. The pictures of both are great.

4. littlebangtheory - June 17, 2011

Susan, Li’l Luna got pretty energized when I moved her, so I expect she did just fine! 🙂

5. U - June 22, 2011

They’re so incredibly beautiful…and under-appreciated by many, I believe. I’m so thrilled you are always a rescuer, though nothing could surprise me less. After all, you’re probably the reason I act in the same way!

I have a memory of being very young and coming across three absolutely enormous insects (each of a different variety) all within close proximity of one another, all out back behind the public library/town hall. There was a moth, and one of those chunky-as-hell, horned beetles we sometimes see. I somehow can’t recall what the third insect was, but I know all 3 were larger than any I had ever imagined. The funny thing is, I remember being nothing but enchanted. I wanted to take it as some kind of magical sign…Where did they all come from that same afternoon? Such an unexpected mystery.

Anyway, long story short: Cheers to loving our many-legged neighbors. That last photo is stellar, as you can see every detail. xxoo

6. TheCunningRunt - June 22, 2011

What a great memory! Thanks for sharing it.

I think the Buddhists are right, that all life is sacred and all life is equally precious, as contrasted with the Western view that humans have great value, while other parts of nature are there only for our use. I imagine we’d take much better care of the world if we had that kind of humility.


Leave a Reply

