jump to navigation

Field Of Dreams. June 9, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Up the hill from here there’s a high valley known as Pudding Hollow, a beautiful little spot with a dozen or so houses, a picturesque stream and some grand views to the north.  It’s well known for, among other things, a field of lupines which is in bloom this month:

The property owners have been very accommodating about photographing their fields, so long as people are respectful and don’t trample or pick the flowers.  On my most recent visit the skies didn’t really deliver what I was looking for, but then, it’s hardly fair to complain about beautiful weather:

Those are both courtesy of Elliot, though the non-planar nature of the subjects made them sub-optimal candidates for tilt-shift photography.

I’m keeping an eye out for conditions with a bit more “atmospherics,” though; a calm morning with rising mists might obscure some of the flaws in these compositions and add some needed drama.

I guess time will tell about that idea.

Comments»

1. Bob - June 9, 2011

I do believe you’ve shared this field with us before!

Does not a thing to detract from the beauty therein, though.

Thanks!

2. Randal Graves - June 10, 2011

Flaws? Picky, picky, sir.

3. littlebangtheory - June 10, 2011

Bob, yes, every year about this time I get enthralled by the place. Some years have produced more interesting photos than others, but it’s always pretty enough to share. I’m going back tomorrow morning, in fact, to try to catch a clearing in the rain, which sometimes yields good photos.

Randal, it was breezy and buggy and I was a bit rushed, so I know it can be done better. But thanks for not being too picky!

4. Pagan Sphinx - June 11, 2011

Maybe Miss Rumphius payed a visit once. I love lupines but they’re hard to grow. Still, I think I will try again one day.

These are gorgeous, Ralph. Honestly, I can’t say enough about your talent with a camera.

5. Steve - June 12, 2011

Your comments about the weather made me realize how much control I can exercise over the weather and light in my paintings. Compared to a photographer I feel more free in some ways (not as stuck with the conditions of the real moment or the placement of objects) and less free in others (my abilities and imagination limit the results as strictly as anything nature can do to a photographer). There is nothing like the practice of an art to remind us of our fences, and to set us longing for the greener grass on the other side. That longing is one of several itches that keep me scratching. It seems to be the case for you, as well.

6. littlebangtheory - June 12, 2011

Gina, thanks again. Yeah, we planted lots of lupine seeds in our East meadow, and less have come up each subsequent year – bummer! But at least there’s Pudding Hollow to head to for our Spring Fix.

Steve, once again your comment is thoughtful and reflects your Artist’s Eye. It’s true, the light, the air being still or not, and what’s in the background are often beyond a photographer’s control, though timing and dogged perseverance mitigate some of that.

And as for imagination, I’m not seeing any lack of it on your part, though of course, one can always hope for more! 😉

7. susan - June 13, 2011

They’re very beautiful as they are. Next year when I go distributing seeds in the local wilderness park I’m plant lupines.

8. noodleepoodlee - June 13, 2011

Lupines YAY! Looking great as usual!

9. littlebangtheory - June 13, 2011

Susan, I hope they do well for you – they’re well suited for the Maine coast, so I expect they could work up your way.

noodlepoodle (I love that name!), yes, YAAAY! 🙂


Leave a Reply

