jump to navigation

Not Far From Here… May 15, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

…a crystal stream tumbles through a limestone gorge:

The cool waters run emerald against the pale tan of the geologic jumble:

If one dares to follow the rushing waters upward between the towering walls, one finds an emerald font tucked in the depths of a mysterious narrows:

Yes, this untrodden place is here in the Berkshires, despite its resemblance to the slot canyons of the Southwest:

On my next visit I’ll come better prepared to access and photograph this very cool place.  Until then, this is what we’ve got.

Comments»

1. noodleepoodlee - May 16, 2011

Simply gorgeous! You really might think this spot was in the Southwest. That third photo looks extra-planetary. Nice, nice work!

2. lisahgolden - May 16, 2011

So dramatic!

3. Pagan Sphinx - May 16, 2011

“What we’ve got” is amazing! I never would’ve guessed that it was in our own backyard! You make SUCH discoveries and photograph them lovingly! I LOVE this series. More, more!

Am trying hard to come out of a deep funk…

hugs,
Gina

4. littlebangtheory - May 16, 2011

Ladies, thank you.

Gina, I’ve heard soooo many times that “what we’ve got” can’t hold a candle to what’s elsewhere, and while the scale of things is certainly grander Out West, I’m determined to make the best of “what we’ve got” (which ain’t half bad, IMHO!)

And don’t let the funk getcha. I also suffer from a tendency toward the blues, and find short walks with Mother Nature, and especially attending to the details, to be the most curative thing I can do for my mood. Hang in there through this rain, then go get some sun and wind and birds and squirrels!

5. Frau Biergut - May 17, 2011

Is this the natural arch area? So far, rainy and windy here in NorCal.

Tschuss!

6. TheCunningRunt - May 17, 2011

Yes, up in Clarksburg – I thought you’d recognize it!

I hope you’re able to get some power-shots of the coast in that active weather (plan B, you know.) 🙂

7. susan - May 18, 2011

The interesting thing about Earth is that it gives us the widest scopes we’re comfortable beholding and then it continues showing us the perfection of its natural beauty all the way down to the limits of our vision. These are wonderful.

8. Steve Emery - May 28, 2011

I want to see more of this spot, for sure.

9. littlebangtheory - May 29, 2011

susan, thanks for the appreciative words. Your “artist’s eye” enables you to conceptualize things which are more amorphous in my mind, and I appreciate that.

Steve, I hope to be back there regularly, though in Summer it’s pretty busy with people, and I can’t get down to where the good photos are without setting a bad example. At any rate, the reflexiveness and concentricity of the water-worn forms is intriguing to me, and begs for the right light to maximize the effect.

Which is to say, “I’ll be back!” 😉


Leave a Reply

