jump to navigation

Scene In A Pond. May 8, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This past Friday after work, I found my way up Mount Greylock, Massachusetts’ highest point.  I say “found my way” because it’s a State Reservation and it, um, doesn’t open ’till Memorial Day, which is on the 30th of the month.

But hey, there was a gap between the concrete blocks closing off Greylock Road on the west side, so how was I to know?  😉

So I noodled my way up to the big steel gate at the Rockwell Road, which was predictably (and judiciously) locked, passing nice stands of woodland wildflowers along the way (but that’s another post.)  I turned around at the marker for Ash Fort,  a small historic site with a tiny pond where I’ve snagged a few photos in the past, and saw this reflection:

I thought it was kind of surreal.

But hey, that’s just one man’s opinion.

Comments»

1. noodleepoodlee - May 9, 2011

Once again, excellent color and composition. Thanks for the view. And yes, very surreal.

2. clairz - May 9, 2011

What an eye you have!

3. susan - May 9, 2011

Thanks for accidentally taking this route on a clear spring day. The resulting photograph made your effort worthwhile for me 🙂

4. Paul in ABQ - May 9, 2011

Awesome. Thanks once again. So glad you color outside the lines now and again.

5. eileen - May 9, 2011

Wow! That is an amazing reflection. I wasn’t thinking that that’s what it was at first. I was thrown off by the golden brown color at the top – autumn like. It was really neat once I saw it. Cool!

6. littlebangtheory - May 9, 2011

It’s a bit disorienting, isn’t it? And intentionally so – kinda like adding another dimension to our perception.

Paul, welcome back! It’s been a while, I’ll have to catch up on your European Adventure! 😉


Leave a Reply

