jump to navigation

Stormy Weather. May 7, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It’s been raining a lot here this past week.

Now, I’m not complaining – Spring rains give us wildflowers and fresh green grass ad the promise of a bountiful garden.

But I’m struggling to keep our lawn mowed and get that garden into the ground without wallowing in mud; I guess my idealized vision of the bucolic country life is being challenged.

Ah well, history recalls that the lawn will  get mowed and the garden will  get planted, and in the interim I can pass the time wandering the countryside looking for emotionally kinetic vistas to photograph, such as this storm flowing along the northern horizon, dropping its liquid gold on the fertile fields of Franklin County:

The view from the fallow corn fields south of the Northampton Airport.

Now I’m off to dump a bucket of compost onto the heap where the garden is supposed to be, and if my shoes aren’t soaked by the time I get there, I’ll be firing up the ride-on mower; if they are  wet, I’ll just have to fire up the Toyota and go look for consolation prizes.

Namaste.

Comments»

1. noodleepoodlee - May 7, 2011

Bet your shoes got wet. The intensity of the blue in the sky is just beautiful. Hope you have a good weekend.

2. susan - May 9, 2011

Whether you managed to get the garden planted or not I’m very happy you took your camera out on your travels. Seeing a sky of such incredible luminosity is amazing.

3. littlebangtheory - May 9, 2011

Thanks, Ladies. Yes Susan, it was very un-New England-y, very Big Sky, if you know what I mean, and luminous to boot!

And NP, ’twas a bit muddy, but not too bad. 🙂


Leave a Reply

