jump to navigation

Below Gardner Falls. May 1, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Along the Deerfield river below the dam at Gardner Falls, the leaves are beginning to unfurl.  The pastel greens of new growth are punctuated by bursts of red maple flowers, creating an effect evocative of Fall colors on Prozac:

Still, if one waits long enough, one might catch a sunset of sorts:

I’m looking forward to the blooming of the blueberries in the cracks, sometime in the next week or two; if the light and weather cooperate, this could generate a “keeper!”

These are both tilt-shift photographs with a good deal of “tilt” to force the foreground focus and still get the views .

Thanks, Elliot!  🙂

Comments»

1. susan - May 1, 2011

The first is very good; the second one is a marvel. My camera would either be focused on the foreground or the background but never both at once. Good for Elliot and good for you.

2. Pagan Sphinx - May 2, 2011

Wow! You’re really getting good!

3. noodleepoodlee - May 2, 2011

Good morning. What a great way to start my day with some beautiful views of a New England River. Miss those gray boulders jutting out into the river, perfect perches to warm up in the sun like a lazy salamander.

That tilt-shift technique is amazing!

Hope the blueberries are abundant this year. Spent part of my day yesterday helping a friend construct bird impediments against his strawberry patch. I fear the birds may be smarter than he gives them credit for, but we shall see.

4. Francis Hunt - May 2, 2011

What Susan said – that second photo is really something!

5. noodleepoodlee - May 2, 2011

Hello again. Just wanted you to know I’ve been popping over here a bit today to get links for piece I’ll be posting shortly titled “Pause and Reflect” featuring your blog and another “Notes From Near And Far” that I ran across on the WordPress tag surfer.

Thought I’d give my few readers a break from “Soap Box Poodle” and let them see some really great work. Hope I send you some traffic.

6. littlebangtheory - May 2, 2011

Thanks, folks. Yeah, I’m diggin’ the tilt-shift world – it really opens up compositional possibilities when a nice vista can be coaxed to include an interesting foreground element. I’m still pretty “hit-or-miss” with it, but you only get to see what comes out right!

noodlepoodle, I’m honored that you think I’m a worthy destination! I should update my bio, though – my Grrrls are both off living their own lives now, one married and in California, the other living and going to school in Boston!

And hey, “Soap Box Poodle” is a smart poodle with a commendable command of the language, so really, no breaks are needed! 😉


Leave a Reply

