jump to navigation

Vernal Pool. April 21, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Here are two shots I took last evening of a Vernal pool in Shelburne.

It was nearly dark as I drove past a reflection in open woods.  Being me, I stopped and backed up to see what I had nearly missed: a Vernal pool choked with fallen leaves.  I set up rather quickly, as the light was fast disappearing, and snapped a couple of quickies off…  well actually, “quickies” is relative; the set-up was quick, the exposures were long – 15 and 30 seconds long.

First, a color shot in landscape orientation:

…and second, a black & white portrait:

Both of these shots were inverted before “printing,” as you can tell if you study the details (such as the leaves floating in the upper corners.  This is more obvious in the color shot.)  The B&W is my favorite; it somehow “feels” very old to me.

I was pleasantly surprised that these came out, as it was nearly dark and difficult to focus.

Enjoy.

Comments»

1. susan - April 23, 2011

I don’t think I’ve ever heard the term vernal pool before but I understood immediately what it meant. The shots of this soon to pass phenomenon really are nice – well, especially the b&w one. The textures are amazing.

2. lisahgolden - April 23, 2011

I agree – the black and white seems very antique.

Hey – I thought of you yesterday as I drove over to Gainesville, GA to have lunch with my daughter Chloe. It’s a windy, hilly drive through the foothills and across lakes. There are so many abandoned buildings and landscapes. If you’re ever down this way, you’ve got to take this route with your cameras.

On the other hand, I want to construct stories about each abandoned place. The layers of lives that took place in each one, that kind of thing.

3. lisahgolden - April 23, 2011

I mean winding, not windy. Oy.

4. littlebangtheory - April 23, 2011

I bet it’s windy, too! 😉

And I’d love to see it, probably as part of an Autumn trip through the Smokies.

So many photos, so little time!

5. sherry - April 28, 2011

i love the b&w!!! loves it!


Leave a Reply

