jump to navigation

They’re Coming! April 18, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

…Spring wildflowers, that is.

Along the road above the South river in Conway, Bloodroot:

Along Clessen brook in Buckland, Colt’s Foot:

Those two were taken with Elliot set at about 7 or 8 degrees of tilt, giving pretty good depth of field, non?

And here’s a shot of I Forget What, taken up along Hog Hollow Road in Buckland:

(I can feel my Nature Boy merit badge being ripped off my sleeve as I type this, so if you recognize this beauty, please rescue me here!)

The next couple of weeks should yield the first rush of our wildflowers, the woodland ones which come in before the leaves unfurl and restrict their light.Β  I’ll try to be alert so we can share them, ‘k?

‘K!

πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. lisahgolden - April 19, 2011

This rush of wildflowers makes this one of the best times of year for flower photos. The regional differences interest me. I’ve been remiss to learn the names of the flowers in the Deep South. I was much better about learning the names and habits of the Midwest prairie plants.

You can borrow my tarnished nature girl badge if I can find it.

2. littlebangtheory - April 19, 2011

Thanks *pluck!*   πŸ˜‰

3. susan - April 23, 2011

Several weeks ago there was a day fine enough for a long walk in Point Pleasant Park, a large area that overlooks the beach at Halifax’s southern tip. As we walked through a wooded area on our way to a waterside path little yellow flowers started popping into view. Looking a little like a cross between dandelions and daisies but not quite either I was curious enough to look them up when I got home. I’d never seen coltsfoot before and although I now understand they are pervasive weeds I have to give them their due for being very pretty as well as strong.

The white ones are more native as well as delicate and beautiful.

4. littlebangtheory - April 23, 2011

I find coltsfoot to be pretty from a distance, but up close its lack of appreciable leaves makes it look very unnatural to me. It certainly is hardy, though, growing through the winter’s sand and salt along many roadsides hereabouts.


Leave a Reply

