jump to navigation

They Called Her “Red.” April 13, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Ah, Red – what a gal!  A strapping lass; all business, no bullshit.  Plain of face but sprite of eye:

Comely comin’ and sturdy goin’:

She was rode hard ’till she couldn’t no more, then left out to pasture since before some trees were seeds:

She lost her shine, but kept her beauty:

Autocar Trucks.  Pennsylvania built, 1907-1953, the year of my birth, when they were eaten by White Motor Company, then resurrected in 1980 by Volvo.  Autocar’s founder, Louis Semple Clark, invented the spark plug for gasoline engines and standardized the driver-on-the-left configuration we now take for granted.  I Wiki’d it.

Autocar:

…an American classic.

Minimally processed photos courtesy of Elliot, my Canon 24mm TS-E II lens.

Comments»

1. DanielMadison - April 15, 2011

Hi,
I’ve been looking through your blog over the past few days and

I found your blog to be very interesting.

Your blog is very attractive and the contents are really

exceptional. I love your blog because of its unique content

and valuable information.

I have added your link in my blog

http://the-worldnews-blog.blogspot.com/ under “My Blog Rolls”

Section, so that it would be useful for the visitors of my

blog.

Kindly visit my blog. And if you really like my blog, please

link back. I would be glad if my blog is referred by wonderful

blog like yours.

I hope you find this link appropriate and useful. Please feel

free to contact me with any questions.

Thanks for your time.

Hope u too would like my blog…

2. lisahgolden - April 15, 2011

You know, I love this kind of accidental art. I mean, what you do is intentional, but the placement of the subject in the first place. Living in the city, the placement was often intentional or random and shortlived, but out here in rural America, the art grows slowly. The truck is parked somewhere and the wilds grow around it and the decay creates shapes and ripples and colors not necessarily found in the surrounding nature. Or the falling down house creates a new piece of the landscape in the winter that you can’t see in the summer while it supports the vines that have overrun it.

I’m babbling.

I love these photos. I’m a fool for vintage.

3. susan - April 15, 2011

What a magnificent old beast and I do mean the truck.
🙂

4. littlebangtheory - April 15, 2011

Hi Daniel, thanks for stopping by. I’m not understanding from your comment what it is that you like about my blog – “unique content and valuable information…” are you sure you’re at the right place? I looked for me in your blogroll and I wasn’t there, so perhaps not!?!

Anyway, thanks for stopping by.

Lisa, yes, “accidental art” it is, but more precisely, it’s life viewed as art. We could look at these old beasts as litter, roadside junk, rusting eyesores. Or we could see them as artifacts of life, and listen to their stories.

I’m trying to cultivate that approach through photography, and to apply it to other aspects of my life.

It ain’t easy.

Susan, yes, She deserves the Magnificent modifier. Elliot captured that well, with just enough “shift” to imply a sort of kinetic energy and just enough “tilt” to keep it all crisp and real. These perspectives have a propensity for coming off as cartoonish, and I wasn’t really aiming for that.

5. Brendan - April 19, 2011

This is really beautiful — “life viewed as art” is right. Is that a tree growing through the back/bed area?

(Visiting from Crooks & Liars)

(PS I think “Daniel” is an autobot — he’s not going to open the blog bay doors for you, Dave)

6. littlebangtheory - April 19, 2011

Hi Daniel, thanks for commenting. I had the same thought about “Daniel,” but didn’t want to be rude if I was wrong. 🙂

Thanks for mentioning C&L, I often miss the incoming links and like to thank the culprits!

7. becky - April 24, 2011

the texture on that last shot is visually delicious!!!!! love it!

8. littlebangtheory - April 24, 2011

Thanks Becky. I too liked that one. The full-sized file is far tastier, having been taken with my tilt-shift lens set just a few inches from the fixture at lower right.


Leave a Reply

