jump to navigation

More From The Bulb show. March 11, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

More shots from he Smith College Spring Bulb Show!

It was crowded during my visit, despite going on a weekday.  A busload of Old Folks came in, followed by one of little kids, their eyes wide with wonder:

The girls were all eyes, the boys all noses, doing face-plants in any flower they could reach.  🙂

I used my tripod in a very compact way, approximating a monopod, but with a bit more stability; despite the apparent brightness, I’ve found that I need longer exposures in this greenhouse, up to several seconds for close-ups of the darker blossoms.

Anyway, with fewer words and more images, here’s some of what I got:

All of these were taken with Ziggy, my 50mm Sigma lens.  I kept my aperture nearly wide open to make the most of the light, and composed these shots with a shallow depth of field in mind.  It’s quite different from my usual fare, wherein landscapes like a much deeper field of sharp focus.

More shots to come, but I think that’s enough for now.

Comments»

1. lisahgolden - March 11, 2011

You just continue to grow in your technique. What a boost a trip to the bulb show must be. I know just looking at the photos has cheered me and it’s sunny and nice-ish here today. I’m trying to figure out which photo I like best and I can’t choose.

2. littlebangtheory - March 11, 2011

Lisa, thanks – you’re too kind! I liked a number of them best too; good thing we really don’t have to choose! 😉

3. susan - March 15, 2011

Oh dear. Left speechless again but for
Ooooooo, Ahhhhhhh, Wow!


Leave a Reply

