jump to navigation

Wishing I Was There. March 4, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: , ,
trackback

My housemate and photographic mentor Lizz is spending a few weeks in the Desert Southwest, chasing the Spring wildflower blooms.  Rumor has it she’s meeting with some success, and frankly, I’m a little jealous – my partial unemployment (a seasonal routine in my line of work) keeps me here but not fully occupied.

And there are only so many photos I can take of my little piece of the world in any given season before I’m ready for a change.

So, in solidarity with Lizz (and to keep from going nuts,) I bought a little “red capped” cactus into which I can disappear whenever I want to feel like I’m in the desert.

Like right now, for instance:

You might be saying, “Hey, that’s not RED, it’s ORANGE!!”  To which I say, “Yup.”  It was the only one among the specimens I saw which wasn’t red, and being the person I am, I dug it.

And until Lizz gets back with her photo-booty, it’ll have to do.

G’night now.

Comments»

1. clairz - March 4, 2011

It will be interesting to hear if Lizz has any luck with the wildflowers. We’ve had just .04 inch of precipitation since the beginning of the year here in southern New Mexico, and the weather people are saying we really need a bit more for a good spring flower bloom. That being said, it’s still beautiful and balmy and I’m seeing lots of shorts and sandals around town. I just put up the hummingbird feeders yesterday to welcome back our pushy little friends.

Stay warm!

2. littlebangtheory - March 5, 2011

clair, Frau B has a wide view of what make for a photographic subject, so I trust she’ll find something to shoot if the flowers don’t materialize.

Unlike in most “vacation” scenarios, blue skies are the WORST thing for landscape photography, but details can be photographed whenever the light is incident to the subject at a favorable angle; Lizz has a long list of side canyons and slot canyons to explore, and perhaps that’s what she’ll come back with.

Well, that and a tan! 😉

3. Frau Biergut - March 6, 2011

The flowers were coming on strong in Anza Borrego Desert State Park in California. I drove far up Coyote Canyon with my friend Robert on Friday afternoon. We had lunch in town before returning for late day sun on said flowers.

Surprisingly, there were areas of substantial blooms of Desert Gold in Death Valley and I found my first Desert Five Spots.

The skies have been magnificent over the last 9 days and I have some nice sunrise/sunset images. The forecast is for rain tomorrow in Zion (next stop) and snow up at Bryce Canyon, so I’m thinking Bryce first and then work my way back to Vegas to pick Holly up at the airport.

I’m still struggling with learning Lightroom, so actual photos are a couple of weeks away.

Tschuss!

4. littlebangtheory - March 7, 2011

Frau B, I’ve been following your prospects by means of the wildflower report links on your/my Mac, and wishing you Bad Weather (as only a photographer might) on your journey. 😉

Good luck with the upcoming storm!

5. Frau Biergut - March 8, 2011

It’s snowing here at Bryce Canyon. Today we go to Zion. (Hallelujah) No wildflowers here!

Tschuss!

6. littlebangtheory - March 8, 2011

Niiiiice! 🙂

7. Frau Biergut - March 13, 2011

Now back in Zion with Miz Lu(Mena)

Tschuss!

8. littlebangtheory - March 14, 2011

WOW, that was fast… she musta flew!!

Hey, if you think of it, take pictures! 😉


Leave a Reply

