jump to navigation

‘Shoein’. January 15, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Got out in a nice snow this afternoon – it was breezy and gray out, but the deep snow called to me, and who am I to snub Mother Nature?

So I headed up toward Rowe, bumper-plowed myself a parking space along a secluded section of Pelham Brook right about where it settles into a deep cleft in the woods, and ‘shoed up.

It was awesome.  Through the deep, deep snow I plunged steeply down, the combination of aerobic effort and the knowledge that this would be a very bad place to catch a tip and launch into the broken-bone-zone keeping me focused and on my game.

The snow muffled every sound except for my thumping heart, and by the time I reached the brook I was plenty warm.

I could hear a throaty rumble from beneath the rolling white hummocks where I knew the stream to be, and chose my line carefully as  I worked my way up, down and eventually across to the far bank:

There were a few long steps, and ultimately a leap down and across some tumbling open water, a move which I knew would be irreversible; I would have to find another way back across.

An hour of traversing a steep side slope, gaining and losing elevation as the terrain and forest dictated, brought me to a likely looking spot, and I went for it, succeeding with anticlimactic ease.

Truth be told, the climb back up to the road was the real reason for choosing this spot to test my new snowshoes, and I was delighted by their performance.  Their super-aggressive crampon design effectively prevented side-slipping, while the simple heel-lifting bale totally eliminated calf strain, a concern for me with my crappy right ankle.

All in all, an excellent first run.  Now I can set my sights on more adventurous outings!

Comments»

1. lisahgolden - January 15, 2011

MORE adventurous outings? Sir, I wouldn’t have snubbed Mother Nature, but I certainly would have offered her a rain check.

2. Bob - January 16, 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for sharing some winter with us (especially those of us who don’t have any).

This post and the several previous… all I can say is “Aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.”

Thanks again, cuz, for sharin’.

3. littlebangtheory - January 16, 2011

Lisa, this is just a foot in the door of what winter brings me. Stay tuned, as there’s bound to be more before mud season arrives.

Bob, my pleasure, I assure you. It’s so nice to hear from someone who appreciates/misses winter enough to humor my excesses! The high country is pure and clean and white as, well, new-driven snow, and thrills me beyond what I can contain, so I’m more than happy to share it with you.

4. susan - January 16, 2011

Magnificent. I mean the achievement of a day snowshoeing as well as the leaps across the stream. Who was the friend with the camera or did you have to hop back to pick it up from the log after the automatic shutter popped?

5. littlebangtheory - January 16, 2011

Susan, most of my forays are solitary; I have a wireless remote release attached to the zipper -pull of my most favorite over-garment, which only leaves my body while I’m sleeping. So yeah, that’s a self-portrait of sorts, taken from a tripod.

Kinda blows the ambiance of the wilderness moment, I’m thinkin’, but then, full disclosure is a journalistic cornerstone, and I aim to tell it like it is.


Leave a Reply

