jump to navigation

Bog Pond, Savoy,MA. January 12, 2011

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I got up to Bog Pond this afternoon, where I had previously photographed the sastrugi in my last post, mostly because I thought I’d missed an opportunity to walk around and see what the winds had wrought, knowing that we’re about to get a fair snowfall over the next twelve hours (it’s already begun,) and that the place would be significantly different tomorrow.

My walkabout proved to be uneventful and only minimally inspiring from a photographic point of view, but I found the solitude to be almost spiritual; the ice was highly textured and unexpectedly three dimensional, while the thin snow, carved into wind-scoured ridges and troughs, crunched and whined beneath my boots and ski poles.  I half expected a sudden glimpse of wildlife going about its business, perhaps a bear or big cat scavenging for a snack, but was disappointed on that count.  It may be that their superior sensitivity to things like the incoming storm had driven them to shelter, or more likely I was just too clumsy and noisy to earn an invitation to join to their polite society of locals.

In any event, I took a few photos, such as this one of the floating vegetative mats of leatherleaf, bog cranberries and other such things which make up the unique flora of Bog Pond:

The ice itself was a riot of cracks and crazes  and lumps and bumps of undiscerned origin:

By the time I took this one I’d been trouncing around on the Bog for at least an hour and had learned what  I needed to know – stay out of the yellow spots, which were soft enough to be preying on the snow above them, and stick to the smoky blue patches.  Failure to adhere to this rule resulted in wet boots and slowed progress, neither of which was a good thing here in the high country, where getting it right means getting home with all one’s fingers and toes intact.

Tonight we’re going to get a nice winter storm and, if the internets are to be believed, a healthy heaping of snow.  I hope they’re right about that – it will be beautiful!

Thanks again to Elliot for these shots; I don’t think I’d have gotten them without his ability to lay down a plain of focus on my surrounding reality.

Comments»

1. Pagan Sphinx - January 12, 2011

These are gorgeous, C ! As is the writing. I hope your time off from work this winter is agreeing with you.

Regarding the futon – I recall that neither of us minded much sharing that small futon in our younger days! 🙂

Peace,
Gina

2. littlebangtheory - January 12, 2011

PS, Yes, my time off comes with both the blessing of freedom and the curse of impecuniosity. Thank you for your hopeful sentiment.

And no, we never minded that futon as it cradled our hopes and dreams, but back then the dreams were probably more along the lines of your pictures of that gorgeous bedroom which I no longer harbor any hopes for.

I’m pretty comfortable with my present humble existence, and hope you’re similarly satisfied, despite the fantasies to which we’re all entitled.

3. Brady Bonk - January 12, 2011

As a news photog in a previous life, I am really enjoying looking at your work. Very nice!

4. susan - January 12, 2011

Sometimes I save up the time to come by to look at your most recent pictures. Your results are always worth a little extra wait. Thanks to you and Elliot once again.

and don’t forget to avoid the yellow snow.

5. lisahgolden - January 12, 2011

What a pleasure this post was. I’ve been whining about our winter wonderland (an unusual thing – the wonderland, not the whining). I thought of you tonight when I finally got out on my own and took my camera with me. It was worth the cold fingers and toes to take some rare snow photos.

I love the photo of the layers, snow, dry foliage, snow, treeline.

6. littlebangtheory - January 13, 2011

Brady, welcome! And thanks for your kind appraisal of my photos. 🙂

Susan, sorry to keep you waiting, but sometimes life intervenes, or my pictures are just uninspired and don’t warrant sharing. These were a bit marginal, but the getting of them yielded a “blogable moment,” and the words needed a little illumination.

This yellow snow, by the way, wasn’t from “where the huskies go,” but was from highly tannic pond water being drawn through porous ice by capillary action. Still to be avoided, though, as it signals a slushy surface.

Lisa, thanks. We just got another foot of fluffy white stuff, so if I get my “have-tos” done early enough tomorrow I’ll have more knee-deep winter to share with you. 😉


Leave a Reply

