jump to navigation

And The Winner Is… September 19, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

…Mr. Cat!

Mr. Cat’s main job (aside from supervising his three otherwise helpless Humans) is to keep the Rolling J Farm as close to rodent-free as is feline-ly possible.  This he does admirably, presenting us most days with at least one trophy and often donning this air of Kingly Nonchalance.

You gotta love a Cat with attitude!

I’d feel bad about the daily body count of Rodentia,  except that the little bastards eat the insulation off our wiring and poop in our food.

Besides, it’s nature, and who am I to argue?

Comments»

1. Herm in Phoenix, AZ - September 20, 2010

Here’s a short poem for Mr Cat:

Here rests the lifeless remains of one dead rat
Dispatched in the heat of battle by Mister Cat

What to do with the body is not a problem at all
He’ll have it stuffed and hung on his wall

“It’s all in my day’s work,” said the proud feline
“A rodent-free pad, that’s the goal of mine”

Let’s get one thing straight from the start
This big, mean tom-cat is fast and he’s smart

“Hey, you don’t believe the words I say?
Step up to bat, you dirty rat. Make my day!”

2. littlebangtheory - September 20, 2010

Herm, thanks for participating – I’m sure Mr. Cat will appreciate your poem! 😉

3. susan - September 23, 2010

That’s a great shot and, just so you know, high praise coming from someone not the least bit interested in cuddly pet pics. How is he with pigeons?

4. littlebangtheory - September 24, 2010

He was eyeing a pigeon some weeks back… I put him in the house, much to his apparent consternation.

He runs away from wild turkeys, though. Probably a smart move!

5. UM - September 26, 2010

Oh my, this has got to be one of your best photos yet!

6. UM - September 26, 2010

As I was scrolling down LBT, the top half of the photo (his highness on the stoop) appeared and I thought, “What a great photo of Mr. Cat.”

…I kept scrolling down so I could click to leave a comment and this treasure unfolded in all its photographic glory! You must be satisfied as hell to have captured the predator and his prey in such perfect portraiture. Nice work, old man.

7. littlebangtheory - September 27, 2010

OLD MAN?!?!???

Heheh, well, I guess I am, all things being “relative!” 😉

Thanks, Ursi. Not that you’re entirely unbiased, but it is a shot I like a lot.

And I noticed how the blog format introduces the photo without spoiling the surprise – I’d like to take credit for that, but it was just serendipity!

8. Tengrain - March 16, 2011

Mike Huckabee on line 2 for Mr. Cat.

Rgds,

TG


Leave a Reply

